Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Blue Springs, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    108
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    The memory could not be 'read.'

    Edited by <font color=red>WyllyWylly</font color=red> to add URL code. See the Quick Guide.[/i]

    I inadvertantly posted this in the wrong forum recently... sorry. Here is the original post.

    We are converting to Win 2000 and some of our users are getting the error 'The memory could not be "read."' (see attached file for screen shot). According to MS, it is a known Win2000 problem. I have found a couple of KB's on the issue here...

    http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?...US;q262490&

    http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?...US;Q267858&

    We do have SP2 installed and still getting the error message. Is there any workaround / fix that anyone knows about? Thanks for any assistance.

    Dennis
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: The memory could not be 'read.'

    I noted a few key points.

    Link #1 doesn't sound at all related to what you're experiencing.
    Link #2 does not appear to relate either - are you performing a file operation?
    Converting from what, specifically, to Windows 2000?

    If this program was originally developed/tested on the 9x platform, that could be a large part of the reason. Win NT/2000/XP are highly unforgiving of sloppy use of memory, where Win9x would usually burp, excuse itself, and go on.

    <UL><LI>Is this a Windows app or a DOS based program?
    <LI>Is it all users?
    <LI>Is this program trying to access memory directly (or do you know)?
    <LI>Can you reproduce the error or is it sporadic?
    <LI>Is there a specific action in the application that causes this, such as a "print"?[/list]
    -Mark

  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Blue Springs, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    108
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: The memory could not be 'read.'

    Thanks for the response...
    Both links refer to the same "type" of error message, though the address is different. The first one
    The instruction at '<address>' referenced memory at '<address>'.
    The memory could not be read.
    Click OK to terminate the program.
    is when logging in to Win2000. The second...
    Windows - Application Error The instruction at "0x00403759" referenced memory at "0x202c7971".
    The memory could not be read. Click on OK to terminate the program
    comes from using an application. We have had both circumstances happening. The address will be different depending on what application is being used.
    One of the programs that this happens with is Lotus Notes 5.
    To answer your questions...
    1.) Definitely all applications are Windows
    2.) Not to all users at all times. User may shut down, log back in and NOT have the problem doing the identical operation.
    3.) Don't know
    4.) Unfortunately, as noted above, the problem may or may not be repeatable.
    5.) No, one person may be affected when opening a file. Another may be affected when trying to print.

    Again... thanks for your interest.

    Dennis

  4. #4
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: The memory could not be 'read.'

    Dennis, is this a custom-written program, or is it a commercial app? I'm curious as to its background. If it's something that we can Google on, for example - but if it's homegrown, I'd go in and ply the developer with Mountain Dew and cold pizza.

    What are you converting to Windows 2000 from - or did I miss that in your reply?
    -Mark

  5. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Blue Springs, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    108
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: The memory could not be 'read.'

    Mark...

    Sorry... converting from Win95 to Win2000. Commercial app. Seems to happen mostly with Lotus Notes 5 though it does happen with others as well.

    You forgot the salt shaker for the cold pizza. :-)

    Dennis

  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,139
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: The memory could not be 'read.'

    Does Notes 5.0 still have the Quincy De######?

    If so, open a command prompt, goto you Notes directory and type:

    qnc -u

    For me, doing that with Notes 4.51 installed, it improved system stability a great deal.
    --
    Bryan Carbonnell - Toronto <img src=/S/flags/Ontario.gif border=0 alt=Ontario width=30 height=18> <img src=/S/flags/Canada.gif border=0 alt=Canada width=30 height=18>
    Unfortunately common sense isn't so common!!
    Visit my website for useful Word, Excel and Access code, templates and Add-Ins

  7. #7
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: The memory could not be 'read.'

    Interesting tip Bryan - it's there in R5, at least on my corporate station (I'm not a Notes fan). What are the ramifications of uninstalling Quincy as the de######? I'm running a nearly identical configuration to Dennis, but this is a clean install of Windows 2000 Pro. I don't experience errors with Notes, but I am interested in anything that will improve its performance.
    -Mark

  8. #8
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,139
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: The memory could not be 'read.'

    <hr>it's there in R5, at least on my corporate station (I'm not a Notes fan). What are the ramifications of uninstalling Quincy as the de######?<hr>
    Join the long list of Not (Notes Fan) <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>

    I'm not sure of the ramifications of uninstalling Quincy, but our Notes Developer told us to do it to increase stability.

    That's good enough for me to do it.
    --
    Bryan Carbonnell - Toronto <img src=/S/flags/Ontario.gif border=0 alt=Ontario width=30 height=18> <img src=/S/flags/Canada.gif border=0 alt=Canada width=30 height=18>
    Unfortunately common sense isn't so common!!
    Visit my website for useful Word, Excel and Access code, templates and Add-Ins

  9. #9
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: The memory could not be 'read.'

    I'll supply the cold pizza if you can rustle up a salt shaker. <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>

    I strongly suspect that this has something to do with the upgrade from 95. If you have the time to test, you may want to perform a clean install and see if the problem goes away.

    Alternately, check into disabling unneeded services and startup applications. There is an excellent reference here: http://www.blkviper.com/WIN2K/servicecfg.htm

    1. <LI>Right-click My Computer and click Manage.
      <LI>Double-click Services and Applications.
      <LI>Double-click Services.
    Cancel any oddball startup programs too, just to be sure. I didn't ask if the hardware was identical on the systems, or if you are upgrading from a cloned (or at least very similar) workstation image. I doubt that it's hardware, since it's sporadic and happens across all users - but it's something to consider.
    -Mark

  10. #10
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    3,386
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: The memory could not be 'read.'

    You might try SP3.

    I get the following error:

    VB6.EXE - Application Error

    The instruction at "0x24d93f9d" referenced memory at "0x00000000". The memory could not be "read".

    This occurs when I try to create an AddIn in VB 6, but only on th esystem on which I have Office XP and VS .NET Pro installed.
    Others state that they do not see this error.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •