Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 26
  1. #1
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Autoplay Tab (XP Pro)

    Yeah, Bruce, they hide it pretty good in XP. You need to go to My Computer or Windows Explorer. In the RIGHT pane, under Devices with removable storage, right-click and do Properties for your CD drive. Here's a shot on my machine. (Just curiosity, where is it on XP Home? Is it in Device Mgr where it SHOULD be?)
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    Silver Lounger Bruce K's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Phoenix, Arizona, USA
    Posts
    1,876
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Autoplay Tab (XP Pro)

    This is where it is on XP Home, but on XP Pro it is not present nor is it present in Device Manager. Is there a setting to make it visible/present?

  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    York, Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    164
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts

    Re: Autoplay Tab (XP Pro)

    Bruce,

    Try looking for the setting after a 'good' CD is in the drive. Neither of my CD drives ever show up unless there's media in either drive - unformatted ones don't count, I think.

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Autoplay Tab (XP Pro)

    Sheesh, Bruce, I know someone JUST recently posted something here in the Lounge with some links about the CD drive problems. I woulda sworn it was in the XP board, but I can't find it again. I'll keep lookin'

  5. #5
    Silver Lounger Bruce K's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Phoenix, Arizona, USA
    Posts
    1,876
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Autoplay Tab (XP Pro)

    No dice. For the heck of it I tried a variety of CDs in the tray and below is what I still get - no tab. And nothing in Device Manager. On the machine w/ XP Home, the tab is present CD or no CD.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  6. #6
    Silver Lounger Bruce K's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Phoenix, Arizona, USA
    Posts
    1,876
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Autoplay Tab (XP Pro)

    I looked here and in M$KB and as of yet nada. <img src=/S/scratch.gif border=0 alt=scratch width=25 height=29>

  7. #7
    Silver Lounger Bruce K's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Phoenix, Arizona, USA
    Posts
    1,876
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Autoplay Tab (XP Pro)

    If I go to the Computer Management console and click on Removable Storage, I get the error message below. I have no clue what it really means and do not comprehend the snap-in utility. My CD-RW works just dandy. I just don't have the AutoPlay tab. Is there a connection here? Is this message indicative of anything worthwhile?
    Attached Images Attached Images

  8. #8
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Roanoke area, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    3,729
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Autoplay Tab (XP Pro)

    removable storage isn't cd per say - it's tape or other medium used on networks and is generally part of backup. right click on removable storage and choose help to learn more about it.

    AFAIK it's not availabe in Home, only Pro.

  9. #9
    Silver Lounger Bruce K's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Phoenix, Arizona, USA
    Posts
    1,876
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Autoplay Tab (XP Pro)

    MJ ~
    <hr>AFAIK it's not availabe in Home, only Pro.<hr>

    AFAIK?? <img src=/S/scratch.gif border=0 alt=scratch width=25 height=29>

  10. #10
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Autoplay Tab (XP Pro)

    You mean you never met the billionaire Middle-Eastern racehorse owner named Afaik Abdullah?

    (As Far As I Know)

  11. #11
    Silver Lounger Bruce K's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Phoenix, Arizona, USA
    Posts
    1,876
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Autoplay Tab (XP Pro)

    OMG! I am so stupid & blind! <IMG SRC=http://www.krymow.com/images/blindfold.gif>

  12. #12
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Autoplay Tab (XP Pro)

    I'm sorry if I'm repeating, Bruce, but I kinda lost ya around one of dem curves above. If you run Windows Explorer, in the right pane do you NOT see your CD (or CDR) drive listed? If it isn't there at all then we've got a different problem than the Autoplay. If it is, have you right-clicked on it and still NOT seen the Autoplay tab? (I still haven't been able to find that post I swear I saw here in the Lounge, with a link to a KB article about disappearing CD drives. Can anyone help me out?)
    Attached Images Attached Images

  13. #13
    Silver Lounger Bruce K's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Phoenix, Arizona, USA
    Posts
    1,876
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Autoplay Tab (XP Pro)

    Al ~

    The CD-RW is listed and I know where the AutoPlay tab is supposed to be, but it is not there. This is what I am trying to get to the bottom of.

    Please see screenshot <post#=165641>post 165641</post#>

  14. #14
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Autoplay Tab (XP Pro)

    I guess this is kinda funny, but Woody's current newsletter is dealing with the reverse problem - how to turn autoplay OFF. Maybe if you check the registry where he points you to, maybe you can see the reversal of whatever might neet to be done, do you think? I'm really @#$!% that I can't find that post with the pointer to something in the KB!

  15. #15
    Silver Lounger Bruce K's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Phoenix, Arizona, USA
    Posts
    1,876
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Autoplay Tab (XP Pro)

    Al ~

    I checked the registry setting and under policies there is no setting there for that. I think the setting in the newsletter is created to defeat AutoPlay. But my tab is not present period. This is weird. <IMG SRC=http://www.krymow.com/images/cantfocus.gif>

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •