Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger djmoore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    371
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Color me STUPID! (XP Pro)

    OK, everybody say it...WHAT AN IDIOT!

    Thank you, one and all. I had XP installed. I had access to my data. I had a big honkin' hard drive. But apparently I still wasn't satisfied.
    So I took my primary partition (C where I had XP installed (only 4gb, since Partition Magic 7 said it might not be bootable otherwise), used PM to change the drive letter to X, and changed drive D to drive C.
    Why? Because every time I installe4d something it wanted to default to C:Program Files, and I just knew I'd eventually forget to change it to D:something and screw everything up.
    So, away I go with PM - it warned me that I might not be able to boot afterwards, but did I care? Heck, no. The last thing I remember, doc, is that Partition Magic message screen after the reboot, telling me that Action 1 was 49% complete (changing C to X) and that Action 2 was 100% complete (changing D to C).

    Am I able to reboot? Heck, NO!!! (Yeah, I know - BIG surprise)

    So now I finally posit my query: My drive is 120gb - a 40gb partition, and the rest (roughly 78gb). Is it possible to reinstall XP on the first partition and not destroy any data on the second partition? Always the Master of Bad Timing, the last thing I did before this was to move all my MP3s (25gb) from CDs to the second partition.

    Any miracles proffered here will gladly be accepted without question (well, maybe just a few).

    Thanks, as always -
    Have a cookie -

    Don

  2. #2
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Color me STUPID! (XP Pro)

    Don, boot with your XP disk and make sure that it understands that partition tables that were created by PM7. I'm not going to go out on a limb and say your not <img src=/S/hosed.gif border=0 alt=hosed width=73 height=24> - but booting with your CD is going to be a good way to tell. XP setup should offer the option to create, destroy, and format partitions.

    <img src=/S/doh.gif border=0 alt=doh width=15 height=15> I feel your pain, do I ever, because I will never forget doing a very similar thing and an older version of PM locked up, rendering the drive nearly useless...but I got away with it, and I hope you do too!!
    -Mark

  3. #3
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,306
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Color me STUPID! (XP Pro)

    Hi
    Yes, you can re-install XP on the new partition and it will boot from there. You will not lose data, but you won't be able to boot up your previous XP, unless you are now able to physically remove the drive with the new XP on, in which case (even on a slave drive) XP will boot happily as it did before.
    I found this out by accident. My Primary Master went kerlunk and died. About all that was on it was the XP OS (and all my passwords, serial# etc just to make it interesting). When I removed the dead drive, a previous XP installation kicked in via a multiple boot loader menu. When I installed a new HD and put XP on it, the system now starts from there and ignores the OSs on the slave drive.
    Rgds

  4. #4
    3 Star Lounger djmoore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    371
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Color me STUPID! (XP Pro)

    This is beginning to look like it isn't really my fault -

    I installed XP on a solo drive (blank) and it installs JUST FINE.
    But then I try to add the original culprit HDD (120gb) as a slave drive (jumpers are set, BIOS sees it, cables connected) and then it won't boot past the XP startup screen (as I call it - where the little blue squares run back and forth before XP opens up) - but now it just sits there indefinitely. I left it for an entire half-hour yesterday, just to make sure I wasn't being impatient, and it just sat there.
    To the best of my ability I have blown away all partition and format information on the 120gb HDD (with my old Win98 install as the master drive, at least I can see the partitions, and in DOS I can format the partitions, but this in the end achieves nothing toward being able to use that HDD by itself. Whenever I try to install XP on the 120gb drive as a standalone drive, XP will run through setup, then reboot (saying it will continue the setup after that) and then just start the install all over again ("Setup is inspecting your computer's hardware configuration") after which it says I already have an OS installed on that partition. Then I delete that partition, format it again, and try to install XP - and the loop just goes on and on and on...

    D'OH!
    Have a cookie -

    Don

  5. #5
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Color me STUPID! (XP Pro)

    It's starting to sound like it's hardware related. Do I understnad this correctly? Everything is fine, until you add this hard drive, and then everything isn't?

    Try changing IDE cables to eliminate them from the equation. They're cheap and it's an easy way to rule out one possibility.
    -Mark

  6. #6
    3 Star Lounger djmoore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    371
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Color me STUPID! (XP Pro)

    I thought of trying this last night, but I was too darn PO'd to try it then.
    I am using the new 'round' Ultra IDE cables (that have to be connected in a certain way, which I didn't know at first)
    and those AIN'T so cheap, but of course I have untold scores of old faithful ribbon cables hanging around.
    Any number of hardware possibilities flashed through my mind last night, including BIOS battery, MB, actual HDD,
    ribbon cable, XP CD, and some others I forget.

    And it's more like the HDD and XP are incompatible - it can be read (though not repartitioned) using Win98SE.
    I also have FDISK on my Partition Magic recovery disk, but it won't let me delete any partitions because it is in 'standard mode'.

    Sheesh! I should've gotten a Gateway!
    Have a cookie -

    Don

  7. #7
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Color me STUPID! (XP Pro)

    <img src=/S/doh.gif border=0 alt=doh width=15 height=15> You might be right about XP not being compatible - check the Hardware Compatibility List to see. I recall a friend having the same exact problem with Windows 2000 - setup would get so far and then <img src=/S/puke.gif border=0 alt=puke width=60 height=15>. He discovered that he had one of the very few hard drives that Windows 2000 wouldn't play nice with.

    If those plain old flat cables work, I know where you can get rid of those rounded ones.... <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>
    -Mark

  8. #8
    3 Star Lounger djmoore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    371
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Color me STUPID! (XP Pro)

    Well, the HDD is on the list - says it is WLP 2.0 Compliant with XP.
    I don't find my CD-ROM drive on the list, though my CD-RW is there.
    I could run the XP install from the CD-RW drive just for laughs to see what happens there.
    Failing that, I guess the next step is to assume that something is defective?
    (BESIDES me!)

    Thanks -
    Have a cookie -

    Don

  9. #9
    3 Star Lounger djmoore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    371
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Color me STUPID! (XP Pro)

    Cookies for everybody!

    It took a trip down memory lane, but the doggone thing is running fine now.

    It wouldn't recognize the XP CD as a bootable disk, so I just formatted the HDD with DOS 6.22, tweaked the BIOS to boot from the CD-ROM first, and then the installation ran (slowly but) without a hitch. (Now I just have to work up the courage to hook up a slave drive <img src=/S/yikes.gif border=0 alt=yikes width=15 height=15>

    Thanks to everyone who chipped in on this one <img src=/S/thankyou.gif border=0 alt=thankyou width=40 height=15>! May your OS never crash!
    Have a cookie -

    Don

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •