Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Star Lounger
    Thanks

Copying menus between templates

Hell, all,

I'm trying to programmatically copy a custom menu (added to Word's native menu bar) from one template to another. I'm able to copy toolbars programmatically, but I've had no luck copying menus that way.

Suggestions?

Thanks.

Bob

Uranium Lounger
    Thanks

Re: Copying menus between templates

Hi Bob:
    I'll start by saying that I'm NOT a VBA expert. However, Chris Greaves, in another post on the Word forum, pointed out that you can't copy menus between templates in Word. His solution was to create what he called a shadow toolbar that contained all the entries that the menu had. You can place dropdown menus on toolbars & copy the toolbars. Then you can copy the buttons to a new menu in the target template. Hats off to Chris for this idea!!

Hope this helps.

Platinum Lounger
    Thanks

> Hats off to Chris for this idea!!

Kepp your hats on. It's -20c up here, and I'm follicly-challenged.

Also I stole^H^H^H^H^H borrowed the idea from Woody's Lounge when it wasn't looking.

Star Lounger
    Thanks

Thanks, Phil. I've already tried it this way, without success. I'm going to ask Chris what I'm doing wrong.

Bob

Star Lounger
    Thanks

Hi, Chris,

Following Phil's advice, I checked your Word post re Making Custom Menus. I've tried something similar, but without success. Here's what I did:

In the original template, I created a custom toolbar. On that toolbar, I created a drop-down menu. I then copied the module containing the macros from the original template to the target template. Then I copied the toolbar from the original template to the target template.

The toolbar copied fine, but the menu on it was grayed out in the target template. Tried copying the toolbar a couple of times, both programatically and manually, with the same results.

Am I missing something?

By the way, here in San Francisco, we've all got our hats off today. Sunny and mid-60's...