New Lounger
    Thanks

Importing Excel to Access (Access 97 SR-1 & Excel 97 SR-2)

I am relatively new to Access and this is my problem. I have created a Database in Access. I have created all the tables, Queries, forms and reports and they all work with new data I type into the forms. I then have an Excel spreadsheet that I need to import to that database. I have gone into Excel and changed all the fields in Excel to match the name and field type in Access. My problem is that I can only import the spreadsheet as a new table it will not import into my existing table. (I get the error the "An error occurred importing the file. The file will not be imported) So I have to make the spreadsheet it's own table. What am I missing or doing wrong? How do I link the new spreadsheet table to the Access table so the data will appear in my tables and reports?

4 Star Lounger
    Thanks

Re: Importing Excel to Access (Access 97 SR-1 & Excel 97 SR-2)

It sounds like you want to retain your existing table and periodically add to it by importing from Excel. If this is the case, then it's probably easiest to go ahead and create a separate Access link table that references your Excel worksheet. Then use an Append query to add the contents of the link table to your existing table (the append query will give you an opportunity to select which fields to append and you don't have to worry about your Excel column names matching the Access table field names). If you're new to Append queries and need more help, holler and I'm sure one of us Lounger's will quickly come to your rescue.

Hope this helps.

New Lounger
    Thanks

I have imported my link table now but couldn't figure out the append query. I found it on the menu and activated it but now I can not view my query at all. It just tells me the data is going to change and then never opens the query.

Super Moderator
    Thanks