Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Bordentown, New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    405
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Newsgroup Woes (6.0)

    This is the second time this has happened to me. I subscribed to a newsgroup; & attempted to send a message. The new message window doesn't have a sender box; & of course OE won't let me send the message because...you guessed it...there is no sender listed. I went into account info & entered a user name & listed my e-mail address in the e-mail address & reply address boxes, but still nothing. Anyone have any ideas? Thanks.

    mark4man
    ADK Pro Audio Quad Pro, w/ Intel Core i7 2600 CPU | 8 GB DDR3-1600 RAM | Seagate 500 GB SATA II (Primary) HD | Seagate 1 TB SATA II (Audio Data) HD | Win 7 Pro 64-Bit | Lynx Aurora8 ~ AES16 | Universal Audio UAD-1 | Cakewalk SONAR PE XI | Steinberg WaveLab 7 | NI Komplete 5 | Band-In-A-Box 2012

  2. #2
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Memphis, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    243
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Newsgroup Woes (6.0)

    Hmmm. I've never had a sender box display in my message window. Although it shows other information like news server, newsgroup, cc, and subject, the sender information is automatically tacked on after sending.

    Your sender information is referrenced in the post from the Account information under the News tab, not Email. Also, it does not require you fill in the Reply box, just the email address.

    If you say you already filled that out PROPERLY, it should work. In the past, I didn't enter an email address correctly and it wouldn't allow me to post. It doesn't have to be a legit address, but it has to have the same syntax.

    Check, too, if you have multiple new server accounts and compare that to the one you are currently in. I subscribe to several servers and each one is listed in my accounts under News. Each account has to have proper sender information for them to work.

    Anyway, those are some ideas.

    -Lenny

  3. #3
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Roanoke area, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    3,729
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Newsgroup Woes (6.0)

    what was the exact error message?

    do you have more than one news account? if so, and if you are replying in a thread you already replied in, it might be trying to send to the other account.

  4. #4
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Bordentown, New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    405
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Newsgroup Woes (6.0)

    Mary J & LennyJo,

    Went back into News Accounts Properties, removed the reply address, re-typed the e-mail address; & now it's working fine. I can send new messages, as well as reply to existing ones. Thanks much.

    mark4man
    ADK Pro Audio Quad Pro, w/ Intel Core i7 2600 CPU | 8 GB DDR3-1600 RAM | Seagate 500 GB SATA II (Primary) HD | Seagate 1 TB SATA II (Audio Data) HD | Win 7 Pro 64-Bit | Lynx Aurora8 ~ AES16 | Universal Audio UAD-1 | Cakewalk SONAR PE XI | Steinberg WaveLab 7 | NI Komplete 5 | Band-In-A-Box 2012

  5. #5
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles, California, USA
    Posts
    1,734
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 1 Post

    Re: Newsgroup Woes (6.0)

    The easiest way to avoid the hassle is to use Google Groups. Simply navigate to your favorite newsgroups and add each one to your Favorites. For example, I'm a "Guiding Light" addict so I've added:
    http://groups.google.com/groups?q=rec.arts...G=Google+Search to mine.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/Eileen_sig.gif>

  6. #6
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Bordentown, New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    405
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Newsgroup Woes (6.0)

    Eileen,

    That is a great tip! Are the newsgroups the same (as the official?)

    mark4man
    ADK Pro Audio Quad Pro, w/ Intel Core i7 2600 CPU | 8 GB DDR3-1600 RAM | Seagate 500 GB SATA II (Primary) HD | Seagate 1 TB SATA II (Audio Data) HD | Win 7 Pro 64-Bit | Lynx Aurora8 ~ AES16 | Universal Audio UAD-1 | Cakewalk SONAR PE XI | Steinberg WaveLab 7 | NI Komplete 5 | Band-In-A-Box 2012

  7. #7
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles, California, USA
    Posts
    1,734
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 1 Post

    Re: Newsgroup Woes (6.0)

    Exactly the same. I used Agent for years but when I got Verizon DSL I had terrible trouble setting up their newserver so I tried Gooogle Groups and I've never looked back.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/Eileen_sig.gif>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •