Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    complicated form using fields....help needed (Office XP)

    Hey guys. I posted here about a month ago, and you helped me out using FILLIN fields. It worked great. Well, here I am back again. This problem is related to the same. At work, we process different 'batches' of work, and with each 'batch', we have to fill out a certain form that pertains to credit information about a particular company. I am attaching the form, and have put asterisks to provide confidentiality.

    This form has to be filled out each time. Well, depending on certain variables, some fields may not have to be filled out, some may. And that's what I need help with. I received help with the FILLIN before, because four fields are always required: Date, Company Name, SIC, and whether a D&B Lookup was required. (D&B stands for Duns & Bradstreet, for those not in the know, it is a tool to receive credit info on a company.) I have previously set up the form to use FILLIN fields for these 4 fields, as they are required always. (The reason I want the form to ask for the info, is because we have a problem at work with employees 'forgetting' to fill in some fields, which is a big no-no.)

    Let me see if I can explain what fields need to be filled out and when. Please refer to the D&B Memo I have attached.

    Example 1: No D&B Lookup was required for said company. - When this happens, only the 4 always-required-fields need to be filled out. This has been accomplished with the FILLIN field.

    The one thing I want to change is with the last required field, whether a Lookup was needed or not. As you'll notice from the attachment, an X is needed either beside Yes or No. I currently have it set it up to ask two seperate questions, one for yes, and one for no. And you put an X depending on which is needed, and leave the other question blank. Can I set up a field that will ask if a Lookup was needed, and if I type 'yes' as the answer, it will put an X beside Yes in the form? And vise-versa, if I type 'no' as the answer, it will put an X beside No in the form? My goal is instead of asking 2 questions for one X, can I have it ask just 1 question instead, and automatically put an X depending on what I answer?

    Example 2: A D&B Lookup was required, but not a Comprehensive Report. A single Lookup provides you with 2 extra fields, the DUNS # for the company (which is unique for every company out there) and their credit rating. The credit rating desides whether a Comprehensive Report is needed. This Comp report provides us with the rest of the information if needed, including FSC (Financial Stress Class), CS (Credit Score), Paydex, Prof (Profitability), STS (Short Term Solvency), and Util (Utilization).

    If JUST a Lookup was required, and provided a good enough rating to not need a Comp report pulled for extra info, then only 2 fields are needed extra to input. What I am wanting to do relates to my question in Example 1. If I can have it ask one question, as explained in Example 1, and I type 'yes' and my answer, can I have it ask for these next two things as well? Because if a Lookup was required, I'll definitely need these next two fields. So, I am wanting it to recognize whether I answer yes or no, then ask for extra info based on my answer.

    I'll cut it short here for now, but there is one more example I'd like to add later. But first, I want to see if this so far is possible. Thank you to anyone who would be willing to help me.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: complicated form using fields....help needed (Office XP)

    Maybe its me, but I can't find any fields or code in the attached document.

    StuartR

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: complicated form using fields....help needed (Office XP)

    I don't have any fields or codes in the attached document for the ease of just looking at the fields. I would attach the template with the FILLIN fields activated, but this forum will not allow me to attach a *.dot file.

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: complicated form using fields....help needed (Office XP)

    If you want to attach a dot file to your post then zip it first and attach the zip file.

    StuartR

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: complicated form using fields....help needed (Office XP)

    Here you go.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: complicated form using fields....help needed (Office XP)

    This example does what you asked for - but I really don't think it is what you need!

    I created a bookmark called DandBFillin, it captures the result of the third Fillin

    I replaced the fourth FILLIN field with the nested fields
    <pre>{ IF {REF DandBFillin }=
    Attached Files Attached Files

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: complicated form using fields....help needed (Office XP)

    I'm not sure if we are the same page Stuart, but I like your thinking <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>. I have attached what a simple form would look like after using the FILLIN fields. The X will either go beside Yes or No, and that's it. Could we do a field that depending on whether you typed Yes or No, that it would the X in the correct spot?
    Attached Files Attached Files

  8. #8
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: complicated form using fields....help needed (Office XP)

    Hi Woodchuck Charlie:
    Put these two fields respectively after the "Yes" & the "No" in your form:
    { IF { REF DandBFillin } = Yes "X" "" }
    { IF { REF DandBFillin } = No "X" ""}

    Note one problem, however. If the user doesn't put in EXACTLY a Yes or No, it won't work. YES, Yes, & yes are all different. So is "sure". You might want to try using form fields & protect the document for forms. A user would have to tab through the fields, so unless they deliberately wanted to leave one blank, it would be hard to overlook. You could use a dropdown form field with 2 choices, "Yes" & "No" for your boxes. You could also use checkboxes that would put an "X" in the correct space, depending upon the result. However, as Stuart mentioned earlier, you would need VBA if you wanted to do that or to prevent someone from leaving a field blank.

    Hope this helps,

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •