Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: NT Backup

  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    NT Backup

    I am trying to get NT Backup to recognize the CD-RW and not just a tape drive. Has anyone been able to do this?
    Thanks.

  2. #2
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Newark, New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    999
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: NT Backup

    Microsoft's NT Backup was made to use a tape drive. I've never seen let you use anything but a tape drive, even a jaz. You'll probably need to use a thrid party backup prog.

    Mike Wolfman
    Mike Wolfman
    Jack of all, Master of none
    Bow before me, for I am root.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tfiles/112673-wolfsig.jpg>

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: NT Backup

    Try NovaBack. It works nicely on NT and has a wide variety of media support. I use it on my laptop and I used it on our servers in my last job.

    http://www.novastor.com
    Charlotte

  4. #4
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Denver, CO, USA
    Posts
    39
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: NT Backup

    I have used PowerQuest's DataKeeper 3.0 for nearly a year. It works nicely on my NT WS4 system with an HP 8200 series CD-RW drive. See www.powerquest.com

  5. #5
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Suffolk, England
    Posts
    60
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: NT Backup

    Charlotte - thanks for the tip - I've been looking for a realistically priced backup solution for a while, and this is in a different league to the 'industrial strength' solutions which, when bundled with a tape drive, put you well on the way to paying enough for a new workstation..........

    A good product for 'software founds and wants'??

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: NT Backup

    Actually, I'm using NovaDisk now (comes with the NovaBack product), which allows me to backup to a CD-R, HD, USB port or firewire drive rather than a tape drive. Other than the difference in media, the product works the same way, but I have to say that firewire is MUCH faster than SCSI tape. <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>
    Charlotte

  7. #7
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Suffolk, England
    Posts
    60
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: NT Backup

    Likewise, I'm using NovaDISK - I reckon that the combination of a RAID configuration on my workstation and b/up to file on the hard drive of a second machine offers adequate redundancy. <img src=/S/crossfingers.gif border=0 alt=crossfingers width=17 height=16>

    Having seen how well it works, I suspect it won't be long before I get a pocket external device to fill the 'what happens if the house burns down' gap..... <img src=/S/meltdown.gif border=0 alt=meltdown width=15 height=15>

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: NT Backup

    Well my 120Gb firewire drive certainly isn't in the pocket category, but it is portable ... and fast!
    Charlotte

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •