Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Palatine, Illinois, USA
    Posts
    27
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Restart and Shut Down does not work

    Hi All,

    Can someone give me an idea how to fix my problem: Restart or Shut Down will not work, Windows just
    blinks and stays on. I need to turn off the PC. This started yesterday -- I have not installed or uninstalled
    any software prior to that. I know there is a fix for this, but cannot remember how. (when you get to my age,
    memory is the second thing to go!!)

    Your help will be greatly appreciated.

  2. #2
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Irvine, California, USA
    Posts
    292
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Restart and Shut Down does not work

    Push and hold in the power button until it shuts down (about 5-7 seconds). Prior to shutdown and after you re-start run chkdsk and sfc.

  3. #3
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Palatine, Illinois, USA
    Posts
    27
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Restart and Shut Down does not work

    Thank you for the reply. My PC is working again .. I ran the System File Checker (same as what you
    suggested) and I think that did the trick. I don't know what could have caused the problem, but it's
    over now.
    Thanks again.

  4. #4
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Irvine, California, USA
    Posts
    292
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Restart and Shut Down does not work

    I am happy it was a simple fix. <img src=/S/thumbup.gif border=0 alt=thumbup width=15 height=15>
    You must remember that you as a user can do everything correctly with a computer and something will eventually go bonkers all by itself. I have found that running CHKDSK three or four times a month seems to help keep things straight. I do not run SFC very often, usually just when things appear to get a bit off. <img src=/S/cheers.gif border=0 alt=cheers width=30 height=16>

  5. #5
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Palatine, Illinois, USA
    Posts
    27
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Restart and Shut Down does not work

    Thanks for you advise. I never used CHKDSK ... I had Norton Utilities until a few days ago
    when I uninstalled it with a promise that I'll never use it again. I had too lots of problems
    lately. So now I will need to use CHKDSK and Windows Defrag, etc. Right now I am trying to
    figure out how my Windows Installer disappeared (cannot install anything). I suspect Norton
    had something to do with it on the way out!

    Thanks again for suggestion.

  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Restart and Shut Down does not work

    I do NOT think that Norton's is your problem. I have been running it since the early DOS days and has never given me these problems. But I have seen them when some one installs 2 or more AV programs. They (AV programs) all think the other is a virus and will mess up the second program on install.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  7. #7
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Palatine, Illinois, USA
    Posts
    27
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Restart and Shut Down does not work

    Dave, I appreciate your reply. I know from previous posts that you favor Norton, but I wonder if you had
    experience with *uninstalling* Norton. I had 3 times in the past five years (I know I am glutton for
    punishment!). Each time I uninstalled Norton I had various Window problems. And in this last incidence,
    I had 3 different problems. I did not install or uninstall any other programs beside Norton. So, based on
    common sense, I had to assume that it was Norton causing these as the result of the uninstall process
    (which is a paine in the butt).

    First, I was unable to restart or shut down my PC ... but after awhile I was able to fix that.
    Second, my desktop couldn't load, all I had was the wallpaper ... I was able to resolve that as well.

    Third, my Windows Installer disappeared. I could not install any software. I downloaded Service Pack 3
    from Windows Update, because it had Windows Installer in it. It downloaded fine, but when it came to
    installation it stopped and played dead (tried it several times). I assume because that also needs
    Windows Installer.
    I also downloaded Windows Installer 2.0 from Microsoft, but when the install process started, it too
    stopped and played dead. Installing Windows Installer NEEDS Windows Installer running! So I'm stuck!

    Sorry for the lengthy problem description, but I have no idea what caused these problems other than
    Norton, and now I also don't know how to get Windows Installer to show up in my windows processes list.
    *Any suggestion would be greatly appreciated.*

    (By the way Dave, I did not have 2 AV software installed.)

  8. #8
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Irvine, California, USA
    Posts
    292
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Restart and Shut Down does not work

    Installing SP3 can affect your installer.If this is the case go here http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?...b;en-us;q324631 to fix it.

  9. #9
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Restart and Shut Down does not work

    What version of Nortons did you have installed in what OS?

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  10. #10
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Palatine, Illinois, USA
    Posts
    27
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Restart and Shut Down does not work

    Dave,
    My OS is W2K Pro. I had (before I uninstalled it) Norton SystemWorks 2002.
    A year ago my OS was Win98 and used Norton SystemWorks 2001.
    I had 2 other versions of Norton in the last several years.

    Take care.

  11. #11
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Irvine, California, USA
    Posts
    292
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Restart and Shut Down does not work

    In theory <img src=/S/thinks.gif border=0 alt=thinks width=15 height=15> you should be able to install the installer from here http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/release...ReleaseID=32832 without having a previous version on your machine (with a web install or saving it to your harddrive). You also may very well have a few registry entries leftover from the uninstall <img src=/S/ouch.gif border=0 alt=ouch width=15 height=15> of Norton causing additional problems. How about trying a repair or adding a small feature of Office if you have it on your system as it uses the installer and theoretically it would fix the problem. If you want to try a reg cleaner/manager to find all your orphan entries and a whole lot more, a great <img src=/S/free.gif border=0 alt=free width=30 height=15> one called Reg Cleaner can be found here http://www.jv16.org/ The only other option would be to check the link on my previous post about SP3 not installing and follow the suggestions in the MS KB article and attempt the install again. With that said, I wish you the best of luck. <img src=/S/cheers.gif border=0 alt=cheers width=30 height=16>

  12. #12
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Palatine, Illinois, USA
    Posts
    27
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Restart and Shut Down does not work

    Sinjin, thanks very much for your efforts in trying to help me with my stupid problem.
    The link you gave me in your first post was exactly describing my problem. I followed
    the instructions and it was working all the way to the end which was to download W2K SP3
    containing the Windows Installer. Unfortunately, when it started installing SP3 it couldn't
    finish it: stopped at the very end and that was it. I tried it 3 times with same results.
    Then I downloaded a copy of Windows Installer (as they suggested) and tried to install it
    but the same thing happened: It stopped before it finished the installation.
    Obviously, my system had some other problems which prevented any installation.

    I found a process (short of re-installing W2K) which is called: in-place upgrade over existing
    installation (similar to re-install OS and takes the same amount of time, but it does not
    reformat the drive, just re-installs the W2K components).
    When it finished I had the Windows Installer *installed*. So it solved that problem as well as
    some other minor problems I had prior to this.

    Thanks again, you started me going in the right direction.

  13. #13
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Irvine, California, USA
    Posts
    292
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Restart and Shut Down does not work

    Good choice of solutions on your part. Did you manage to install SP3 after all was corrected <img src=/S/question.gif border=0 alt=question width=15 height=15>

  14. #14
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Palatine, Illinois, USA
    Posts
    27
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Restart and Shut Down does not work

    Yes, I finally installed W2K SP3. There was no problem with the installation.
    It took a long time though ... it's a huge file!

    Funny, when you have Windows Installer, you can install things!! Ha! <img src=/S/laugh.gif border=0 alt=laugh width=15 height=15>

    Again, you got the ball rolling for me ... Thanks.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •