Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Georgetown, Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
    Posts
    59
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Taskman.exe (XP Pro)

    Something strange has happened to my task manager. whhen it comes up, it's just the "inner" window. no borders, no title bar, no min,max or close buttons. No tabs for applicataions, processes, performance, or the 4th one, cant remember what it is.

    Im also running PopNot to block popups in IE. Because of that I get a lot of "errors" on websites that try to pop open new windows. I customarily hit N or click No when it asks if i want to debug. sometimes when im typing in another window, and that window grabs focus and I'm typing a word with y, it pops the"Just in time debugging" thing UNDER the open windows, and I guess it has application modal, because I can't alt-tab or minimize anything else. if I ctrl-alt-del and try to bring up task manager, it doesnt come up, if I ctrl-alt-delete again and click task manager AGAIN, it still doesnt pop up, but it does bring the just in time debugging window to the front, but it wont let me cilck anything and I ended up having to hard-reset my computer to get it to come back up again.

    Has anyone run into either of these problems? munched up Task Manager or status/error messages popping UNDER open windows so you cant get to them?

    Thanks
    Mark

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Taskman.exe (XP Pro)

    Well, I'm not familiar with this thing called PopNot, but the obvious question is, have you tried NOT running it and see if you have the same problem with Task Manager. There are certainly other ways that you can stop web site popups, so this would be the first thing I'd try. What else do you have running as a "TSR?" How about a list of things in your tray of MSCONFIG so we can take a look at what the Task Manager problem might be? It's a new one on me.....

  3. #3
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Taskman.exe (XP Pro)

    Actually Mark...if it looks like the attached screenie, it's not a problem. It's actually a design feature that consistently screws people up that don't know about it.

    To get all of your tabs back, just double click in the empty gray area at the top (where the blue pointer is in the screen shot). If you want to go back to that style, double click there again. It's designed to do that so that you can have it running on a server with minimal screen space, very handy for servers with high CPU loads (but seeing as it takes cycles to run Task Manager it's kind of silly too).

    HTH,
    Attached Images Attached Images
    -Mark

  4. #4
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Georgetown, Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
    Posts
    59
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Taskman.exe (XP Pro)

    As a matter of fact, that was exactly what it was... thank you SO MUCH [img]/forums/images/smilies/smile.gif[/img] I combed through the MS KB, my XP book, and pestered all the other sysadmins I knew in trillian about it, and there wasnt anything about it anywhere. [img]/forums/images/smilies/smile.gif[/img]

    YOU DA MAN, Mark! [img]/forums/images/smilies/smile.gif[/img]

    How about the second problem? dialog boxes popping "under" the open windows and being "modal" ?

    Mark

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Taskman.exe (XP Pro)

    More and more, every day, I'm convinced you must have a magic genie somewhere who tells you all this stuff! Impressive, and thanx! <img src=/S/clapping.gif border=0 alt=clapping width=19 height=23>

  6. #6
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Taskman.exe (XP Pro)

    I'm not familiar with the pop-up blocker you have installed - but I'm wondering what would happen if you removed it temporarily? If it has installed itself as the default de######, that could explain a lot. Sadly I can't offer much more than that, but I do think that an application somewhere is interfering.
    -Mark

  7. #7
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Georgetown, Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
    Posts
    59
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Taskman.exe (XP Pro)

    PopNot? well Ive had the issue with and without it. the problems doesnt seem to be with blocking popups, but with the "Just In Tme script de###### window. It asks me if I want to use Windows Script Host or if I want to open it in MS InterDev, but the window is BEHIND the currently open windows, so I cant GET to it, and it seems to be modal, i.e. I cant alt-tab out and back to bring it to the front of the screen or anything. Ive heard one or two other friends of mine (who don't use PopNot) that they've had similar occurences.

    I can live with it, I just have to be careful not to ever click Y or it chokes and dies and I have to bring the system down hard [img]/forums/images/smilies/smile.gif[/img]

    Mark

  8. #8
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Taskman.exe (XP Pro)

    That's enough evidence for me - the problem exists with or without PopNot. Good, because PopNot has favorable reviews and I'd hate to see that it was the source.

    Try this and see if it does anything to resolve the problem:
    1. <LI>Open a command prompt: Start - Run - CMD
      <LI>Enter the following command: <pre>DRWTSN32 -i</pre>

      <LI>Exit the command window by typing EXIT
    This will set Dr. Watson as the default application de###### - which it normally is. If you have Visual Studio or some other similar development environment, it may have changed, so make sure that you know how to enable an alternate JIT (Just In Time) de###### if you need to. If that sentence doesn't make any sense, then you probably don't need to worry about it anyway!! I'm suggesting this as I suspect something is trying to capture dialog boxes and errors for debugging, and Dr. Watson is a powerful stock Windows utility that simply doens't interfere like this!
    Attached Images Attached Images
    -Mark

  9. #9
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    531
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Taskman.exe (XP Pro)

    Docjelly--
    There seem to be hundreds of pop-up killers out there--I've used a few and none have been perfect but they have been pretty effective. I am referring you to Analog X's POW because he writes excellent bug free applications, and the price is right--free. He has been on Tech TV a number of times and is strongly endorsed there. His applications get very good
    reviews including on Chris Perillo's Lockergnome which is itself an excellent resouce with 7 free daily newsletters including.

    Windows Daily
    Tech Specialist
    Digital Media
    Penguin Shell
    Apple Core
    Webmaster Weekly
    Bits & Bytes

    They have loads of useful downloads, including some very helpful Word/Office applications.
    A number are free or low cost. But I am referring you to POW as a popup killer that I believe can solve this problem and wanted to show you these two sites for great information and downloads if you haven't used them. Also here is a site map of Analogue X's downloads and offerings:
    Analog X Site Map and Downloads Available

    defrag

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •