Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Exporting test db info to production (2000 sr-1a)

    <img src=/S/brickwall.gif border=0 alt=brickwall width=25 height=15> I have a production database with security turned on to control which users access which menus. I copied the database file and the security file to a test area and created new forms, macros and queries as well as modified some existing forms. I can export the new macros and queries in the production database without any difficulties. Once I export a form, either a new one or a modified one, I get the following error:

    "The expression On Click you entered as the event property setting produced the following error: Error accessing file. Network connection may have been lost.

    The expression may not result in the name of a macro, the name of a user-defined function, or [Event Procedure].

    There may have been an error evaluating the function, event, or macro."

    Essentially I'm clicking on a button on the main menu to go to a sub-menu. The menus all exist when I go into design view. When I export menus (forms) with the same name from the test database to production I do get a prompt verifying if I'd like to overwrite the existing form. Also in the test database I had to modify security for new forms. I manually copied the security file over to production replacing the old security file.

    Any ideas on how I can get my test database components into the production database?

    Thanks,
    Mike

  2. #2
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    326
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Exporting test db info to production (2000 sr-1a)

    I can't answer your specific question, but if you haven't split your database you should. Besides safety (if your front-end goes weird the data in your back-end is still safe), it's easier to implement changes. I don't use export/import to "copy" changes from a test database to a production database - I just copy the entire front-end over to production and re-link.

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Exporting test db info to production (2000 sr-1a)

    Could you please explain the splitting concept in more detail? How is that done?

    Thanks.

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,139
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Exporting test db info to production (2000 sr-1a)

    A split FrontEnd(FE)/ BackEnd(BE) is actually pretty simple.

    The tables go in the BE, everything else goes in the FE.

    In the FE you create links to the BE tables (File|Get External Data|Link Tables...).

    When you change a form/query/report, anything except table structure, all you have to do is replace the FE. No need to import anything.

    This is quite handy if you are working in a multiuser networked environment. Every user can have a copy of the FE on their local machine, all linked back to the same networked BE.

    Does this help?
    --
    Bryan Carbonnell - Toronto <img src=/S/flags/Ontario.gif border=0 alt=Ontario width=30 height=18> <img src=/S/flags/Canada.gif border=0 alt=Canada width=30 height=18>
    Unfortunately common sense isn't so common!!
    Visit my website for useful Word, Excel and Access code, templates and Add-Ins

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Exporting test db info to production (2000 sr-1a)

    That message can also be caused by the presence of an Office XP application (or the whole suite) on your machine. Take a look at MSKB article Q304538.
    Charlotte

  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Evergreen, CO, USA
    Posts
    6,623
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 60 Times in 60 Posts

    Re: Exporting test db info to production (2000 sr-1a)

    Following up on Bryan's comments, you should have "database splitter" as one of your database utilities under tools. It will do most of the work for you, although the splitting process can also be done manually without any great difficutly. If you search the lounge for split database you will find many references to the concept and what the advantages are.
    Wendell

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Exporting test db info to production (2000 sr-1a)

    <img src=/S/clapping.gif border=0 alt=clapping width=19 height=23> Thank you this was my problem. Currently I did not look into the splitting into front/back ends because my database contains 2 tables with under 1200 records between them. I will keep the other posters suggestions in mind and look at it as possible future improvement.

    Mike

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •