Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: harddrive

  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    harddrive

    I have an old aptiva which has a 7 gigabyte harddrive, but the stats are only registering 2 gigabytes. I restored the computer
    and it still only allows 2 gigabytes, any ideas?

  2. #2
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: harddrive

    Sounds like a limitation of the system BIOS. You may be able to get around that limit with a BIOS upgrade from the motherboard manufacturer, or if that isn't available you could attempt to use EZ-BIOS or the Maxtor equivalent (I don't recall the name) which essentially a software hack that allows Windows to see the whole drive.

    Can you provide more specs on the system as is - brand, model, motherboard if you can find out what it is?
    -Mark

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: harddrive

    I was able to bring up the following information on the computer I'm currently using:

    Operating System: Windows 98 (build 4.10.1998)
    System Model: IBM Aptiva Model 2153E3U
    Processor: 350 megahertz AMD K6-2 w/3DNow!
    Hard Drive: Generic IDE hard disk drive
    Main Circuit Board: [under "Board:", just a bunch of zeros], Bus Clock 100 megahertz, BIOS Acer V3.2 V70EN4B 10/11/98

  4. #4
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: harddrive

    I managed to find a BIOS revision for the 2153 series. Try searching about on IBM's site for more information - a system of this age could very well not have support for hard drives over 2.1GB in size. <img src=/S/sad.gif border=0 alt=sad width=15 height=15> The hard drive is also likely to be an IBM model, but I don't know if they make a BIOS extension like Western Digital's EZ-BIOS - and you don't want to chance with using another manufacturer's workaround.
    -Mark

  5. #5
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
    Posts
    5,054
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 417 Times in 346 Posts

    Re: harddrive

    Hi,

    It's not clear to me whether it's the BIOS or the OS that's not recognising anything beyond 2Gb. A M/B & BIOS as recent as yours should. However, a FAT16 formatted disk will only go to 2Gb, even if it was initialised via FDISK as a single 7Gb partition. To get the rest of the available HD space, you'd need to have one or more extended partitions (via FDISK and FAT16) or FAT32 formatting.

    Cheers
    Cheers,

    Paul Edstein
    [MS MVP - Word]

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: harddrive

    Sorry bout the late reply. I found out where the problem was... and boy do I feel stoopid . When I originally formatted the disk, I forgot to enable large disk support. <img src=/S/doh.gif border=0 alt=doh width=15 height=15> <img src=/S/sorry.gif border=0 alt=sorry width=15 height=15>
    After a wipe (using WD Clear) and reinstall of both the OS and my goodies, everything is working fine. There is one partition, set at the full size.
    Thanks for taking the time to help me out <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •