Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 33
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    283
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Fresh install - no floppy

    I'm needing help with a difficult notebook situation - this seems to be my lot in life. Like a similar quandry in <!post=this thread,112226>this thread<!/post>, I have a sub-notebook with external stuff, except this time it's got an external CD-ROM via parallel port and NO, I repeat, NO FLOPPY DRIVE (eek - the horror! <img src=/S/flee.gif border=0 alt=flee width=25 height=25> ).

    The problem is that I have been asked to put a fresh installation of W2K on this machine without knowing the administrator password. I do have a power user password so I can gain access to the machine generally, but of course it won't run a W2K setup CD with those kinds of permissions. I have been unable to configure the BIOS to boot from the Backpack CD-ROM, and I assume that I won't be able to because, after all, it is a parallel port connection, and there's nothing on the vendor site that helped me. Without the ability to boot to a W98 setup floppy and use DOS to run the W2K setup from files copied to the hard drive (which I've already done), what can I do here (other than wait for the long weekend to be over so I can bug my client to get the original administrator password from the vendor of the notebook)?

    TIA!

  2. #2
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,139
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Fresh install - no floppy

    Keely,

    Here are a couple of articles that may help:

    http://www.ntfaq.com/Articles/Index.cfm?ArticleID=14729
    http://www.ntsecurity.net/Articles/I...ArticleID=9527

    I also have gotten recently an ISO of a bootable CD that will let you reste the Admin password. I can't find the URL, but I will check at work tomorrow for it.
    --
    Bryan Carbonnell - Toronto <img src=/S/flags/Ontario.gif border=0 alt=Ontario width=30 height=18> <img src=/S/flags/Canada.gif border=0 alt=Canada width=30 height=18>
    Unfortunately common sense isn't so common!!
    Visit my website for useful Word, Excel and Access code, templates and Add-Ins

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    283
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Fresh install - no floppy

    Thanks Bryan,

    I checked the links and there's lots of good info re: creating NTFSDOS or Linux boot disks, but alas, I just don't have an external floppy drive. I look forward to hearing from your tomorrow if you get a chance to find that ISO for the password resetter.

    It's so humbling to get help from an Easterner. <img src=/S/devil.gif border=0 alt=devil width=15 height=15> <img src=/S/duck.gif border=0 alt=duck width=23 height=23> Who did you root for today in your Labour Day Classic?

  4. #4
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Fresh install - no floppy

    Keely, what kind of file system are you looking at here? NTFS or DOS? Without a bootable CD or floppy at your disposal, you're going to be hard pressed to do much of anything short of taking the hard drive out and slaving it to a system that does have one of the above.

    It would also be useful to know what kind of partitions you're dealing with. Is everything crammed onto the C: drive, or are there multiple partitions?
    -Mark

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    283
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Fresh install - no floppy

    Hi Mark,

    One partition, C:, NTFS, 6GB worth.

    The best part of this predicament is that the vendor of the notebook (an individual and friend of my client) knew full well that I would simply be wiping it off and starting fresh - and <img src=/w3timages/censored.gif alt=censored border=0>ed me anyway.

    Hmm, removing a notebook harddrive and slaving it to another system....now THAT sounds like fun! <img src=/S/yikes.gif border=0 alt=yikes width=15 height=15>

  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,139
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Fresh install - no floppy

    Keely,

    I found it!!! http://www.dmzs.com/tools/files/ The link is at the bottom of the page.

    I know it's not tomorrow yet, but I'm a stubborn SOB <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>

    I just reread your original post, can you boot from the external cd? If not, then this ISO won't help either.

    Not only am I an Easterner, I live in the centre of the Universe, Toronto <img src=/S/evilgrin.gif border=0 alt=evilgrin width=15 height=15>

    IF I was a CFL fan, then there is no doubt that it would have had to be the Argos, even though they lost.
    --
    Bryan Carbonnell - Toronto <img src=/S/flags/Ontario.gif border=0 alt=Ontario width=30 height=18> <img src=/S/flags/Canada.gif border=0 alt=Canada width=30 height=18>
    Unfortunately common sense isn't so common!!
    Visit my website for useful Word, Excel and Access code, templates and Add-Ins

  7. #7
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    3,386
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Fresh install - no floppy

    Can you add an external floppy drive?

  8. #8
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,139
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Fresh install - no floppy

    One more thing that I forgot to metion Keely,

    If none of these work, you may want to give LC4 from @Stake a try.

    I used the previous version to get the Admin password from a Win2K box in less than 5 minutes.
    --
    Bryan Carbonnell - Toronto <img src=/S/flags/Ontario.gif border=0 alt=Ontario width=30 height=18> <img src=/S/flags/Canada.gif border=0 alt=Canada width=30 height=18>
    Unfortunately common sense isn't so common!!
    Visit my website for useful Word, Excel and Access code, templates and Add-Ins

  9. #9
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Fresh install - no floppy

    I do believe you are between a rock and a hard place on this one. NTFS was intended to be difficult if not impossible to crack, and here you are without Administrative rights to the file system. Without a means of booting into another OS, be it DOS, Slackware, you name it, you may be looking at an uphill battle.

    On the other hand....perhaps this is an opportunity to charge your client a premium for your efforts. <img src=/S/evilgrin.gif border=0 alt=evilgrin width=15 height=15> This is probably treading on tenuous ground, but there was a tool called L0PHTcrack that was popular a few years back, because it could break an NT password using brute-force methods. I've never tried it - and never will, frankly, because nothing I work with would require access of that kind (backups are <img src=/S/king.gif border=0 alt=king width=21 height=22>), but many corporations and even the US military purportedly used this as a password auditing tool.

    The way I see this, you can go that route - and take your chances - or find a way to boot into another OS that will allow you to format the drive. <img src=/S/crazy.gif border=0 alt=crazy width=15 height=15>
    -Mark

  10. #10
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    283
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Fresh install - no floppy

    Guys, thanks so much for the contributions. I feel shady even reading the posts, like I'm about to become some kind of hacker. I'll check into those if need be - in the meantime, I've told my client that he's <img src=/w3timages/censored.gif alt=censored border=0>ed if he doesn't get the admin password from his vendor friend. I'll keep you posted if I go all white hat hacker over this. <img src=/S/sneaky.gif border=0 alt=sneaky width=15 height=15>

  11. #11
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,139
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Fresh install - no floppy

    <hr>but there was a tool called L0PHTcrack that was popular<hr>
    It has now been upgraded to LC4, which is the tool that I mentioned in <post#=175236>post 175236</post#> .
    --
    Bryan Carbonnell - Toronto <img src=/S/flags/Ontario.gif border=0 alt=Ontario width=30 height=18> <img src=/S/flags/Canada.gif border=0 alt=Canada width=30 height=18>
    Unfortunately common sense isn't so common!!
    Visit my website for useful Word, Excel and Access code, templates and Add-Ins

  12. #12
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: Fresh install - no floppy

    Keely, Have you looked at this KB article: http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?...;EN-US;Q239803&?

    HTH, Joe
    Joe

  13. #13
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Fresh install - no floppy

    I believe that tool also requires administrative privileges the first time it is run, no? I may have misunderstood what I read about it, but I recall seeing that it required a one-time admin-level run in order to set up password hashing.
    -Mark

  14. #14
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: Fresh install - no floppy

    Mark, I don't think so. But on closer reading I did notice that it does require the administrators pw. Keely's problem is that she does not have access to the admin pw. My bad.

    Sorry, Joe
    Joe

  15. #15
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,139
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Fresh install - no floppy

    Quite right you are Mark.

    I guess I never noticed that. <img src=/S/sad.gif border=0 alt=sad width=15 height=15> Sorry Keely. Looks like you are SOL.

    I guess that'll teach you to make nasty comments about us easterners <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15> <img src=/S/duck.gif border=0 alt=duck width=23 height=23>
    --
    Bryan Carbonnell - Toronto <img src=/S/flags/Ontario.gif border=0 alt=Ontario width=30 height=18> <img src=/S/flags/Canada.gif border=0 alt=Canada width=30 height=18>
    Unfortunately common sense isn't so common!!
    Visit my website for useful Word, Excel and Access code, templates and Add-Ins

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •