Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Houston, Texas, USA
    Posts
    432
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Outlook forms not working (Outlook 2k & 97)

    I have two forms that I created using MS Outlook 97 and MS Access 97. Since then we have converted to MS Office/outlook xp. We created new forms and just change the the line SET DBE=APLICATION.CRATEOBJECT("DAO.DBENGINE.35) to SET DBE=APLICATION.CRATEOBJECT("DAO.DBENGINE.36) and it worked great for about 6 months. Now for some reason, when we run the forms all they do is crash the form,,, come up with the Send a copy of this to MSN trouble window. And outlook starts over.

    If I can the SET DBE line back to 35, it works. If we upgrade to a new outlook server software will this make a difference?

  2. #2
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Outlook forms not working (Outlook 2k & 97)

    In your registry, which of these keys do you have?

    HKEY_CLASSES_ROOTDAO.DBEngine
    HKEY_CLASSES_ROOTDAO.DBEngine.35
    HKEY_CLASSES_ROOTDAO.DBEngine.36

    If these entries don't exist, then you can't automate those COM objects in the manner you did before.

  3. #3
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Houston, Texas, USA
    Posts
    432
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Outlook forms not working (Outlook 2k & 97)

    I do not have these lines in the registry or know how to do it.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Outlook forms not working (Outlook 2k & 97)

    Those lines are added if DAO is installed. Does XP not come with DAO? See if on the Access board or in the Knowledgebase there is something about how to get DAO on XP. Otherwise, you will have to recode using ADO.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •