Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Arkansas
    Posts
    952
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    networking question

    Is it possible to network a dial-up internet connection? I know you can use a router or hub for broadband connections but is it possible to so similar with a dial-up connection?

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: networking question

    Yes, in a word.

    What operating system(s)?

    I'm not certain I'll be able to give good guidance, but knowing what you are running will help someone more knowledgeable than I <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Arkansas
    Posts
    952
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: networking question

    Windows 98 SE is the operating system. All they want to do is be able to have the two computers have access to the internet simultaneously - using a dial-up internet service provider.

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: networking question

    OK - check this out and see if it helps:

    Q234815 : Description of Internet Connection Sharing

    I haven't had much of a chance to read it all myself - so shout if you need more info.

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: networking question

    This may be more illuminating:

    InfiniSource TechFiles

  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,139
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: networking question

    Yes you can. There is a router, SMC Barricade I think, that has the ability to share a dial-up connection AND a broadband connection and is a Network print server
    --
    Bryan Carbonnell - Toronto <img src=/S/flags/Ontario.gif border=0 alt=Ontario width=30 height=18> <img src=/S/flags/Canada.gif border=0 alt=Canada width=30 height=18>
    Unfortunately common sense isn't so common!!
    Visit my website for useful Word, Excel and Access code, templates and Add-Ins

  7. #7
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Nixa, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    314
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: networking question

    These routers cost too much in my opinion. Just set up Internet connection sharing on one PC (the Host) and use the disk Win98 has you create to set up the Client. The only thing is that for the client to access the internet the Host must be on. The Host does not have to have the internet on because during your initial setup there will be a check box for allowing the client to force the host to dial the internet.

  8. #8
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Brantford, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,391
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: networking question

    I haven't tried this software myself, but I understand PROXY from AnalogX is a very easy program to do this.
    Christopher Baldrey

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •