Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Old Conduits

  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    94
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Old Conduits

    Does anyone know how to get rid of old conduits. I'm using a Palm IIIxe and have been for years. I have added a couple of programs that sync with the desktop. However, I've also deleted a couple of these programs but they leave their conduit behind. There doesn't seem to be any way to get rid of these, merely to mark them "Do nothing."

  2. #2
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    283
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Old Conduits

    Hi Bruce:

    When you say you "deleted" these programs, did you delete them from the Palm only? Did you uninstall them from your Windows system? What OS are you running? What exactly are the programs left behind?

  3. #3
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    94
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Old Conduits

    The program in question is called Patient Tracker. It's a medical data base that runs on the Palm. It was actually a trial version I was running. I'm running Windows 2000 on my desktop and Palm OS 3.5.3 and the Palm Desktop is v4.1. The company making the software doesn't know what the problem is--and since I didn't buy it, they don't have any great stake in it. I erased the program from my Palm and from my desktop.
    I crashed my Palm IIIxe and had to remove the batteries to give it a frontal lobotemy to start again erased and reloaded the Palm desktop but it still found and loaded that conduit. It's not actually causing me any problems but it bugs me sitting there.
    Bruce

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Old Conduits

    I've got the same problem and I'm a fairly new Palm owner. I installed a freebie calculator, as you're supposed to do, by putting the .prc files in the Palm directory and running "install" from the desktop software. When I decided I didn't like the calculator, I deleted it from the Palm device and REMOVED the .prc files from the Palm directory on my hard drive. But every time I do a synch, the blankety-blank calculator is re-installed on the Palm - I don't know why either. I've been thinking I'm gonna have to search the registry and see what I can find, but haven't gotten around to it yet.

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    283
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Old Conduits

    Even when you hard reset your Palm to remove all the data and programs, your old data will remain in the Palm folder (by default, C:Palm). It sounds like the database still exists on the desktop in the Palm folder somewhere. I found this article on the Palm website, where it talks about going into your C:PalmusernameBackup folder to find the errant database. Will that help both of you? <img src=/S/crossfingers.gif border=0 alt=crossfingers width=17 height=16>

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Old Conduits

    Thanks for the "find" Keely! That did it for me and I hope it works for Bruce as well. Interestingly, on my system there were TWO backup copies of the two .prc files in a path that looks like this: C:Program FilesPalmEABackupTemp007, with one copy in the Backup folder and another in the Temp007 for whatever reason. By the way, I assume that the reason the folder structure doesn't use the "username" in my case is that (like Tigger says!) I'm the only one. Thanks, Keely!

    P. S. With an 18 month old grandson, one HAS to be familiar with all the Winnie The Pooh characters! <img src=/S/baby.gif border=0 alt=baby width=15 height=15>

  7. #7
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    283
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Old Conduits

    No problem - I'm glad it worked! <img src=/S/clapping.gif border=0 alt=clapping width=19 height=23>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •