Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    3,386
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Speedy Gonzales, it ain't (IE 6 SP 1)

    Unless caused by the changes I made to ActiveX/Scripting options (discussed in the Macromedia Flash) thread, installing IE 6 SP 1 has slowed down both IE and OE.

    Anybody else notice this?

  2. #2
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Lorain, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Speedy Gonzales, it ain't (IE 6 SP 1)

    No problem on my end...but then, of course, I have cable...AND WinME <img src=/S/evilgrin.gif border=0 alt=evilgrin width=15 height=15>...installing SP1 took only 6 minutes total (from start to finish) and haven't noticed a slowdown at all. <img src=/S/sorry.gif border=0 alt=sorry width=15 height=15>

  3. #3
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    3,386
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Speedy Gonzales, it ain't (IE 6 SP 1)

    THings may be getting better.
    Perhaps, Win 2000 is moving files around behind the scenes?

  4. #4
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Long Beach, California, USA
    Posts
    1,912
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Speedy Gonzales, it ain't (IE 6 SP 1)

    Might want to defrag the hard disk if you haven't already. I think SP1 was fairly good size.

  5. #5
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    3,386
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Speedy Gonzales, it ain't (IE 6 SP 1)

    I Defragged all drives yesterday.
    Made a big difference.

    Guess I should defrag more often.

  6. #6
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    531
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Speedy Gonzales, it ain't (IE 6 SP 1)

    After I downloaded SP1 for IE6, a box came up on its own which I didn't see listed on Windows Update or a web site--at first I thought it was prompting me to redownload IE6's SP1 again, but it was about a 10MB download and it was IE 6. I debated on cancelling it, not sure what might happen, if anything. I went on and downloaded it and the frequent IE errors I had started getting seem to have disappeared. I didn't use any tweaks to uninstall the "old browser," so I am not sure whether I have IE6's SP1 improving problems with the old browser, or IE6 and a new browser.

    It seems to move better if anything. On some of the MSN XP newsgroups, there are scattered reports of slowness. I had posted that XP1's SP1 contained IE6's SP1, because I had read it ,but it does not contain IE6's SP1 and that needs to be downloaded separately. I also had entertainted the thought that because CNET news type sites had reported on the consent agreement that the browser and WMP and other features could be separately uninstalled, they might be replaced with new ones, but this is not actually the case--it's more an incorrect news interpretation. The features addressed in the consent agreement can be simply hidden at Add/Remove- or unhidden -not uninstalled.

    defrag

  7. #7
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Speedy Gonzales, it ain't (IE 6 SP 1)

    "Guess I should defrag more often" YES you should.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  8. #8
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    3,386
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Speedy Gonzales, it ain't (IE 6 SP 1)

    If I did everything I SHOULD, then I'd have no time for he FUN things!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •