Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Defrag

  1. #1
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    3,386
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Defrag

    Assuming that one has sufficient disk space, not to mention 384MB or memory, what criteria does Defrag
    use to determine to NOT defrag a file?

    I understand why ShellIconCache is not defragged, but why not defrag the others?

    <pre>Fragments File Size Files that did not defragment
    3 728 KB WINNTShellIconCache
    2 95,790 KB Program FilesMicrosoft Visual Studio .NETMsdn1033MSDNVS.HXQ
    2 109 MB Program FilesVERITAS SoftwareBackup Exec Desktop ProSystem
    CATALOGSPRIMARYCATVERS.DAT
    </pre>


    CATVERS.DAT is, I ASSuME, the catalog for Veritas Backup Exec.

    MSDNVS.HXQ is used by the MSDN HElp in VS .NET.

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Defrag

    My understanding is that the built-in defrag fro W2K is Diskeeper Lite. This is now available free for other OS's - you may get more information by following the link in Post 170775 - if not direct from Diskeeper.

    Otherwise, I would guess at any or all of:
    1] You do not have a single contiguous space to where the file(s) can be moved.
    2] The file(s) are locked/protected
    3] The file(s) are in use
    (These may be limitations applying to the Lite version only.)

    From my Diskeeper 5 Help files:
    It is necessary for both SYSTEM and ADMINISTRATOR to have full control over a file (or the directory folder it is in) in order for Diskeeper to have access to move the file.

  3. #3
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    3,386
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Defrag

    I suspect that the files are somehow protected.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Defrag

    Maybe if there are only 2 or 3 fragments it would be a waste of time to copy those files to contiguous space? Not worth the wear and tear on the hard drive? Possibly MS "knows" the frequency of access to those files and knows that not much random access is performed. Win2K seems to keep track of how often I launch different programs (see the Add/Remove Programs control panel).

  5. #5
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    3,386
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Defrag

    A Defrag program should not be looking at frequency of use.

    I've got plenty of unused space, so those two files are not really a problem.
    I expect that they are locked, or have some sort of protection.

  6. #6
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Defrag

    If you have any conclusive proof that these nits have any real world or even technical effect on your system's performance, would you post them? I can't possibly imagine that you could tell one whit of difference.
    -Mark

  7. #7
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Defrag

    > A Defrag program should not be looking at frequency of use.

    Why not? It's about optimization, not cleanliness for its own sake.

  8. #8
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: Defrag

    Leif, I don't believe that Diskeeper Lite is the same as the Win2k builtin version. According to Executive Software "Executive Software has just re-released Diskeeper
    Joe

  9. #9
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    3,386
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Defrag

    Ayup.

    This can be demonstrated by noting that the version 6/7 product does defrag ShellIconCache files, but the version included in Win 2000 does not.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •