Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Denver, Colorado, USA
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Home PNA Network ICS Problem

    Wondering if anyone can help with this. I have a HomePNA network set up at home (uses USB connections to D-Link and Netgear PNA boxes that goes through telephone wiring). Everything works fine, with my XP Home PC connected to the Internet (AT&T cable), using ICS and connecting to 2 other Win 98SE machines.

    The problem I'm now having is I want to be able to also connect a new laptop to the home network when I bring it home from work. The laptop is running Win 2000 Pro. The home network PC's are assigned to a workgroup (called mshome), but the laptop is normally connected to a domain at work. If I reconfigure the laptop to assign it the workgroup at home, then it's a real pain to get it back on the domain when I get back to work (I don't have access rights to reassign myself and a network admin has to do it for me each time). Without changing to the workgroup, I was actually able to still get the PC's to see each other, but I can't get the ICS to work on the laptop. The internet connection is there -- I can tell because I can ping sites from the laptop if I use their addresses (e.g., ping 64.58.79.230 which is yahoo.com). I can't ping yahoo.com directly though, just it's address. In Internet Explorer, I can't access any web site (either by their address or their URL). Seems the problem is in the DNS settings, but I've tried setting it to my primary PC at 192.168.0.1 (which works with my other PC's), and also to the attbi settings from the primary PC. So far, no luck.

    Any suggestions?

  2. #2
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Coppell, Texas, USA
    Posts
    168
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Home PNA Network ICS Problem

    I have a similar setup with work and home, and took the easy way out: I named the home workgroup the same as the LAN Domain at the office. My Win2K laptop was able to see and access my other machines at home, and at work it accessed the domain. (I did the same thing with my wireless network). One thing that's a little harder is accessing Win2K machines from Win98, but there are already threads about that available here if you search.

    HTH

  3. #3
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Home PNA Network ICS Problem

    Tell the guy he can either change it every day, or buy you a copy of NetSwitcher for $15.

  4. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Denver, Colorado, USA
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Home PNA Network ICS Problem

    Meant to reply earlier, but got sidetracked. Did try your suggestion and renamed my workgroup on the home PC to the same name as the domain on the work PC, and it all works!

    Thanks!

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Nixa, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    314
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Home PNA Network ICS Problem

    I apologize because I do not have my laptop in front of me. However, you did not need to change your home domain. you have different hardware settings available under Hardware Profiles (Right click on your My Computer icon | Properties | Hardware tab | Hardware profiles (Win XP)). Copy the original hardware profile and rename it. Then modify the renamed one to your home network settings as needed. Now when you log onto either network you simply select which hardware profile you need to use. It may seem more difficult that changing your home domain but security is the name of the game.

  6. #6
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Coppell, Texas, USA
    Posts
    168
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Home PNA Network ICS Problem

    Kent,

    I'm interested in hearing why that's more secure. If the network is behind a firewall, the domain name is never exposed to the outside, or is it?

    Note that I also use my machine from home to access the work network using VPN. While VPN is active, my network connection is tunneled to the corporate network, and isoloated from my home network. I'm not sure VPN would work as well if at home my PC was identifying itself as a member of an unknown workgroup.

    Thanks.

  7. #7
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Nixa, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    314
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Home PNA Network ICS Problem

    The security issue is home security v. office security. Yes you may have a home firewall, however a cracker that wants in can fairly easily bypass this. Now he has your home domain, not good but life could be worse, well, it just did. The cracker quickly notices that your domain name is not the average Harvey Homeowner name. After a quick tour of your network he sees his is not in a corporate environment. Now he goes to your cached passwords and "borrows" a copy of the list. He also jots down your IP address scheme. Now this very bad person turned out to be a corporate spy. He uses the IP address he took off your PC, the log on information and passwords, logs on to your corporate account, goes into the accounting department writes himself a contractors bill for $5,000 he also notices some funny bookkeeping and then copies that data, takes it to the Attorney General get paid about $1,000 for a lead in weaseling out bad business practices. While he was in your company system using your password he browses over to the Engineering Department files and again "borrows" the last two years of Research and Development on the perfect mouse trap. Next he contacts your competitor and sells them the blueprints for a 3% royalty.
    And who gets blames, fired, investigated by the FBI and maybe gets to visit a Judge and cell? Anybody have an idea? Unfortunately it is you.
    Now I admit this is only a best case scenario, after all things could get much worse. <img src=/S/dragon.gif border=0 alt=dragon width=17 height=15>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •