Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Windows Backup

  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Etobicoke, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    198
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Windows Backup

    <P ID="edit" class=small>(Edited by CAC on 12-Sep-02 21:52. 4+MB should have been 4+GB
    11MB should have been 11GB
    )</P>I'm told Windows Backup has a 4+GB limit. Is this true? If so, are there any workarounds?
    I want to back up my entire system (approx 11GB of a 30 GB HDD) onto another HDD (80 GB) I have installed on my computer. Is there any freeware available that would accomplish this?

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Windows Backup

    This may help:

    Q250651 : Insufficient Disk Space Error Message During Backup to a File

    Briefly:

    Symptoms
    When you try to use Microsoft Backup to back up your Windows 98-based computer contents to a file, you may receive the following error message:
    Insufficient disk space exits to continue the current operation. Please free some disk space and retry the operation.
    Cause
    This issue can occur if you back up more than 4 gigabytes (GB) of data to a hard disk that is formatted using the 32-bit File Allocation Table (FAT32) file system.
    Resolution
    To work around this issue, configure Microsoft Backup to use multiple backup jobs when you need to back up more than 4GB of data to a FAT32 hard disk.
    Status
    This behavior is by design.
    More Information
    This issue does not affect the ability of Microsoft Backup to back up more than 4 GB of data to backup devices such as tape drives. [/i]

  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Etobicoke, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    198
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Windows Backup

    Thanks for your reply Leif! But, pardon my ignorance. What does Microsoft mean when they say "configure Microsoft Backup to use multiple backup jobs when you need to back up more than 4GB of data"?

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Windows Backup

    Example:
    Drive C: 3GB
    Drive D: 2GB
    Drive E: 1GB
    Total to be backed up = 6GB = too much!

    So,
    Backup Drive C = 3GB
    then
    Backup Drives D + E = 2GB + 1GB = 3GB

    If it is all on one drive, then you will need to select whatever sub-4GB chunks (folders and sub-folders) you can easily manipulate.

  5. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Etobicoke, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    198
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Windows Backup

    Thanks again Leif. I figured as much. My problem is that I want to backup my entire drive C which is a 30GB drive to drive E which is a new 80GB drive. I don't want to have to pick and choose folders that add up to <4GB.

    Can you recommend any freeware/shareware/software that would accomplish this?

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Windows Backup

    No experience of any free/shareware, I'm afraid. You could maybe see if there is anything at Tucows.

    Does it need to be compressed? If you are only going to get an average compression ratio of 2:1, the worst loss you are going to suffer is 15GB out of your 80GB with a straighforward copy. And a straightforward copy can be a lot easier to restore from <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>

  7. #7
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Etobicoke, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    198
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Windows Backup

    No, there is no need to compress the data. I tried a straight copy using Windows Explorer but it doesn't handle the system files properly. I think a backup is the way to go, if I could just get a program that can handle more that 4GB. I checked out DriveImage and it can handle up to 80GB but it will break it into 2GB segments. That may be better than me having to calculate chunks <4GB :-) I took a look at TuCows earlier but I'll go back and have another peek. Thanks.

  8. #8
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Windows Backup

    I don't have the link's available right now, but I like 2 programs:
    Powerquest's Drive Image, to back up a clone of the system.
    Veritas Backup Exceutive, which is what the full version of MS Backup. You can configure it to backup whatever files & drives that you want.
    Just my <img src=/S/2cents.gif border=0 alt=2cents width=15 height=15>

  9. #9
    Bronze Lounger IanWilson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Bristol, United Kingdom
    Posts
    1,523
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Windows Backup

    Will it backup directly to a CD writer?

    Ian

  10. #10
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Windows Backup

    Drive Image certainly will backup directly to CD-R or RW. My recollection is that Backup Exec will also (MS Backup will NOT span multiple CDs). I haven't tried it in a long time. My preference is to backup on a removable hard drive. It's so much faster than CD.

    Fred Langa had a whole series of articles on this, although he said that he backed up onto a different partition (or another drive), & then copied to CD. I was shortsighted & didn't get a second hard drive big enough to back up the first. Then I bought a removable firewire drive & then found out that DOS doesn't recognize a firewire drive. If I learn from all my mistakes, I'll really get to be bright. <img src=/S/evilgrin.gif border=0 alt=evilgrin width=15 height=15>

  11. #11
    Bronze Lounger IanWilson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Bristol, United Kingdom
    Posts
    1,523
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Windows Backup

    Does anyone actually know for sure whether Backup Exec will back up directly to a CD-RW? I tried to find out from the Veritas website, without success. (I've seen Fred Langa's stuff, but I don't think he answers this.) I know the version of MS Backup that comes with Win XP Home doesn't - you have to do the back up first and then write the resulting back up file to the CD.

    Ian

  12. #12
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Windows Backup

    Hi Ian:
    I checked back to see if I could be more certain. This answer is "maybe". I did backups on CD-Rs & CD-RWs that spanned multiple disks. Because you had to do a FULL erase, followed by formatting the disk by Backup Exec (not by Adaptive Direct CD), I found that the amount of time needed for CDRWs wasn't worth it, but I probably didn't have a good system.

    However, I remember reading several messages on the Veritas newsgroup forum, where people were unable to span disks. Veritas did not support all CD writers & that created problems. Also, people have reported that they can span mulitple disks using 650MB/74 min. CDRs, but not with 700MB/80 min CDRs. I found that their support was terrible; haven't tried it in a long time. However, they do have some knowledgeable people on their boards. You can find their newsgroups at news.support.veritas.com

    Someone else who uses Backup Exec regularly might chime in. Or you might ask over on the Software forum.
    Cheers,

  13. #13
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Gambrills, MD, Maryland, USA
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Windows Backup

    I'm not sure about Backup Exec because I only used it for tape on my older system. I now use Backup my PC which is a newer version of the Backup Exec software. It is exactly the same functionally except that it has good support for newer CD drives. I have no problem spanning disks on a Dell Laptop and a Gateway desktop on which I use the Backup My PC program. <img src=/S/compute.gif border=0 alt=compute width=40 height=20>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •