Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16

Thread: FDIsk

  1. #1
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cheadle, Staffordshire
    Posts
    2,177
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    FDIsk

    I get the following when booting up:

    Save to disk file not found
    Save to disk feature is disabled

    Any Idea's

    Dave

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: FDIsk

    Are you saying you are getting these messages when you try to run FDisk?

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cheadle, Staffordshire
    Posts
    2,177
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: FDIsk

    No, Always when booting up.

    If I leave it on screen, it will disapear and continue loading windows.

    This started happening when re-installing windows. I deleted the pri Dos partition and created it again, but the error still occurs.

    Thanks
    Dave

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: FDIsk

    How many folders and files do you have in your c: root?

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: FDIsk

    Is this a laptop?

    I used to have a Windows98 laptop that had vendor specific code that allowed it to save the memory to disk for a fast recovery, like Windows 2000 does as a native operation. If the vendor software was installed but the file it used for the save operation didn't exist then it gave a very similar message during startup.

    StuartR

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: FDIsk

    A google search for Save-to-disk-file-not-found gives lots of matches from Vendors pointing to the instructions for running a utility called PHDisk which creates the missing hibernation file.

    StuartR

  7. #7
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    43.8N 81.0W, Ontario
    Posts
    815
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: FDIsk

    Hi

    PHDisk apparently is software for NEC laptops. You can get more info here.

    Have a Great day!!!
    Ken
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/KenK_sig.gif>

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: FDIsk

    Not only NEC. I got my copy with a Compaq laptop.

    StuartR

  9. #9
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cheadle, Staffordshire
    Posts
    2,177
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: FDIsk

    Yes you are correct.

    I have an old Twinhead Laptop and the errors refer to PHDISK.

    I've downloaded the EXE file but need some assistance on how to install it.

    Any help is welcome

    Thanks

    Dave

  10. #10
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: FDIsk

    You will find (somewhat limited) instructions at http://www.twinhead.com/pub/phdisk.txt.

    Are you sure you want to do this? I was never impressed with the reliability of PHDisk's suspend to disk functionality. Unless your laptop takes a long time to boot I would recommend just shutting it down when you want to turn it off and rebooting when you want to use it again.

    StuartR

  11. #11
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Arriving Somewhere but not Here
    Posts
    698
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: FDIsk

    Can you supply a link to the phdisk download please? I'm not having much luck finding it and a problem with my mother-in-laws laptop has reoccured.

    stuck

  12. #12
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: FDIsk

    You can try here, but this might be specific to Acer. Take a look at this Google search for more possibilities.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  13. #13
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Arriving Somewhere but not Here
    Posts
    698
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: FDIsk

    Hmm, it seems that Pheonix don't supply replacement copies of phdisk as it is PC specific. The machine I'm tring to fix is an old IBM 390 Thinkpad. It was a previusly used machine and I hve no master or utillity disks. It has a non std, well not UK at least, more European with lots of accented keys, keyboard.

    I can't find phdisk on the IBM site.

    stuck

  14. #14
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: FDIsk

    Try this command at the DOS prompt ....

    c:thinkpadphdisk.exe
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  15. #15
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: FDIsk

    I just found this site and I think it has your answer. You don't have to sign up to see the solution, just scroll down the page and you'll find the accepted answer. HTH
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •