Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
    Posts
    9,508
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts

    Daylight Savings

    Compulsive curiosity drives me to ask LoungeAdmin; can you confirm that the Lounge time settings doesn't use any type of Daylight Savings adjustments, it's all unadjusted
    -John ... I float in liquid gardens
    UTC -7ąDS

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Daylight Savings

    Everything is zero'ed on UTC - you set your own DS adjusted offset in your own profile, hopefully twice a year <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>

    Have you clicked on the World Clock link top right? From memory you can see where everyone is wrt DST in both hemispheres.

  3. #3
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    549
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Daylight Savings

    Hi John, I use a freebie little program called Winglobe because, like yourself, I am contacting & moving around overseas more often than not with my work. May be of interest to you. http://www.djuga.net/winglobe.html

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Daylight Savings

    Ah, what's an hour between friends and family, John! <img src=/S/cop.gif border=0 alt=cop width=15 height=24> When you're dealing with 14 hours to start with, I'm sure they won't mind if you wake 'em up an hour early, 'specially if you're willing to spend the money for the phone call.....

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    43.8N 81.0W, Ontario
    Posts
    815
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Daylight Savings

    Howdy

    I use World Time 6 which I've configured to show the current time in various cities around the world.
    I've got it setup to display in 2 lines at the top of my screen (always on top).
    I believe it takes into account local variations such as "Daylight Savings", but I haven't verified how well it does it.
    Oh yeah.......and it's <img src=/S/free.gif border=0 alt=free width=30 height=15> .

    Have a Great day!!!
    Ken
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/KenK_sig.gif>

  6. #6
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
    Posts
    9,508
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts

    Re: Daylight Savings

    Thanks all. My question is just about the Lounge. FWIW I use (warts, 16 bits, and all) GeoClock at home, and set my Palm Pilot from it, since I have had it as registered shareware since I don't know when, perhaps as much as 12 years. Geoclock includes updatable confguration files including DST for pretty much the entire planet. So I have plenty of sources on World Time, including the Lounge's own World Clock.
    -John ... I float in liquid gardens
    UTC -7ąDS

  7. #7
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    549
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Daylight Savings

    Hi Ken, just asking if World Time 6 is runs like a ticker? That would be useful, even though I use another simple program, it does not have the option to be added to my browser, toolbars or as a ticker. <img src=/S/scratch.gif border=0 alt=scratch width=25 height=29>

  8. #8
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    43.8N 81.0W, Ontario
    Posts
    815
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Daylight Savings

    Hi Cyberdance

    I'm not sure what a "ticker" is, but WorldTime6 is a standalone program. As far as I know, it can't be integrated into other programs such as your browser.
    If you want to try it, just download and install it.....it's FREE.
    You can play with it for a while....try different options....then if you don't want it, uninstall it.

    Have a Great day!!!
    Ken
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/KenK_sig.gif>

  9. #9
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    549
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Sounds good

    Thanks Ken, Ill give it a go. The ticker is a Yahoo ticker, which scrolls across the bottom of my screen with whatever I want in it, like the time & weather in various countries I am dealing with on a constant basis, also handy for news headlines in my field of work.. I found it very handy, have not set it up on this machine for some reason (ironically, probably not enough time!). <img src=/S/crazy.gif border=0 alt=crazy width=15 height=15>

  10. #10
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    43.8N 81.0W, Ontario
    Posts
    815
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Sounds good

    Hi Cyberdance

    It sounds like a "feature" a lot of people might like to have.
    You might have better luck posting a request in Software Finds and Wants!!

    Have a Great day!!!
    Ken
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/KenK_sig.gif>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •