Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Des Moines, Iowa, USA
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Issues with firewalls? (IE6 SP1)

    We're running into an issue with IE 6 SP1 going through our corporate firewall. Basically it appears that the syntax of the requests have changed with IE 6.0 SP1 and our firewalls aren't responding correctly. What this means for the enduser is a PAGE NOT FOUND error or missing items on webpages. Has anyone else seen this in a corporate environment? Thanks!

    Scott

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Issues with firewalls? (IE6 SP1)

    I'm not sure I can help, but can you post details of which firewall you are using?

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Des Moines, Iowa, USA
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Issues with firewalls? (IE6 SP1)

    Support for that is actually in a different department so I don't know specifics but I believe we are using CheckPoint Firewalls, not sure what version...

    I've tested with a proxy.pac file as well as pointing directly to our firewall boxes with the same results.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Issues with firewalls? (IE6 SP1)

    I have not heard of this in general, but as a suggestion for another place to look: we decided at some point to add 'ads.aol.com' to our filter list to cut down on what was our supposed #1 site, and this created missing ad banners and graphics across the web. In Netscape 4.7, it sometimes created an opaque layer over the web page informing the user that the site had been blocked (this caused all the eBay users to migrate to IE in a hurry).

    (Not being an IE 6 user, I don't know if there were any other changes that should have had any effect like this.)

  5. #5
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Long Beach, California, USA
    Posts
    1,912
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Issues with firewalls? (IE6 SP1)

    I don't see where IE6 sp1 changed any of the syntax of the requests -- and I have not heard of any one else mentioning this. Are you sure your IT or firewall administrator did not decide to impliment increased restrictions on where you can go?

    Or it could be something like this:
    Cannot Display Web Pages with Norton Internet Securities 2000 Installed.

    I realize that the article pointed to does not really apply, but the concept might...

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Des Moines, Iowa, USA
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Issues with firewalls? (IE6 SP1)

    I'm not sure exactly what changed in the requests but we've taken a trace and our expert analyst says it's definitely different than IE 6.0. They haven't made any changes to the firewall itself because I can get anywhere on the exact same machine with IE 6.0 installed. It's only happening with IE 6.0 SP1.

    Thanks for the link on the Norton issue. Since I posted this I've now heard of a few more personal firewall related issues regarding IE 6.0 SP1 so I'm not alone at least. I think something definitely changed in the way IE 6.0 SP1 is sending requests and that's causing these firewall issues. I will say that, at least in our environment, IE 6.0 SP1 is the most secure version of IE yet! <img src=/S/cheers.gif border=0 alt=cheers width=30 height=16>

  7. #7
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Long Beach, California, USA
    Posts
    1,912
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Issues with firewalls? (IE6 SP1)

    Query: Are you having the issues with some .gif's not loading as well? That seems to be a frequent problem.

    One other possible area to look into. IE6 sp1 apparently changed the HTTP 1.1 settings. You MIGHT want to try fiddling with that...
    Attached Images Attached Images

  8. #8
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Issues with firewalls? (IE6 SP1)

    Hi Rick:
    I have the HTTP 1.1 checked, although I never did it deliberately. I notice that yours is unchecked. Is there any reason to leave it checked, or would you advise unchecking it?
    Thanks,

  9. #9
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Long Beach, California, USA
    Posts
    1,912
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Issues with firewalls? (IE6 SP1)

    Sorry to confuse. The sp1 Update automatically checks that for you. I only unchecked it as an experiment to see if I could figure out the weird IE6 sp1 image problem. Some users claimed that changing around those check boxes made a difference. Others said it did not -- who knows why.

    Other people have reported that modifying the Veiw | Encoding | Auto-Select setting made a difference, and others did not. Pretty confusing, to say the least...

    As for the HTTP 1.1 check box, I would leave it checked. MS says you may need that to connect to sites that are using HTTP 1.1 instead of HTTP 1.0. So far I have not heard anything bad about leaving it checked.

  10. #10
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Issues with firewalls? (IE6 SP1) - Thank you

    Thanks, Rick. I'll keep it checked.

  11. #11
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Des Moines, Iowa, USA
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Issues with firewalls? (IE6 SP1)

    Good suggestion and one I've tried several times with no success. I've even changed the options telling IE to Always look for new content, or never look for new content. It doesn't seem to matter. We've had problems in the past with the HTTP 1.1 through Proxy setting, since we do go through a proxy server here. The problems were usually with third party sites/apps that didn't understand the HTTP 1.1 requests from our proxy servers.

    So far I still don't have any concrete answers on this one other than the headers are different and it looks like IE 6 SP1 is sending Ranged or If/If Not Etag requests which apparently differs from IE 6.0.

    Oh, and we're seeing the problem with GIF, JPG's, and entire pages. It's not consistent at all. One time I'll get the full Google page. The next time I'll get half of the Google logo and a red x for the rest. What is consistent is that I can't click on any links from the Google page. Very strange....

  12. #12
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Long Beach, California, USA
    Posts
    1,912
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Issues with firewalls? (IE6 SP1)

    This is going to be from left field -- it is a VERY long shot -- but if you understand the basic concept of registering and unregistering DLL's, then you MAY want to give this a shot...

    Try to unregister the Hyperling ProxyStub Factory. I doubt this will do anything, but who knows...

    Open a Run box and Enter:

    regsvr32.exe u hlinkprx.dll

    You may need to supply the paths for either of those. To re-register, do the same without the "/u". A message box will confirm your success.

  13. #13
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Des Moines, Iowa, USA
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Issues with firewalls? (IE6 SP1)

    This issue has been resolved for us with some patch code to our firewalls to handle the different request syntax. Basically our firewalls weren't handling the ranged etag requests correctly.

    Thanks again to everyone who offered suggestions/assistance!

    Scott

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •