Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    78
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    network access to W2K computer

    Hi folks,
    I have a small network with Win2K pro on one computer, and Win98 on the other. I've set shares up on both computers, and installed NetBEUI for them to communicate with. From the Win2K computer, I can browse the Win98 computer with no problem. On the Win98 computer, when trying to browse the Win2K computer, I get a password prompt for the resource "computernameIPC$ ". And I had set no password on the Win2K computer. The administrator account doesn't even have a password yet. I've tried blank, "password", and everything else I could think of.

    I've tried going into Local Security policy and expanding the network logon permission to Win98 computerEverybody, but with no success.

    Can someone please help me?

    Thanks in advance.

    CharlieT

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,594
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: network access to W2K computer

    Have you enabled the Guest account on the Win2k machine?

    Joe
    Joe

  3. #3
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: network access to W2K computer

    The "computernameIPC$" share is a default share for the "Administrator" account use ONLY. You need to define any and all share that you want the users to use.

    Also you stated "I've set shares up on both computers", do you mean by this that you have defined some FOLDERS as being shared or just turned ON the sharing action.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: network access to W2K computer

    Connecting to ComputernameIPC$ can be used by non-Administrator users to enable you to browse in a network where guest accounts have been disabled. Especially where there are domains and you have done a local login on a standalone PC you can use the syntax
    <pre>Net Use ComputerIPC$ /user:domainusername
    </pre>

    And then browse to your heart's content

    StuartR

  5. #5
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    78
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: network access to W2K computer

    I have not set up the Guest account. Setting it up would render this a non-issue?

    Also, I have defined folders for sharing, in addition to turning sharing on.

    Thanks.

    CharlieT.

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: network access to W2K computer

    > I have not set up the Guest account. Setting it up would render this a non-issue?

    Yes. You would only need to do this if you need to specify a username and password for access. If you have set up a guest account - and permitted everyone access to your shares and files - then you do not need to do this.

    StuartR

  7. #7
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: network access to W2K computer

    Your sample "Net Use ComputerIPC$ /user:domainusername" is using a DOMAIN and the problem is on a peer2peer type and then this will not work, except for the Administrator account.

    The Guest account will need to be set up or each non 2K machine will need to that the same account as the 2K machine to be able to access it. Even to share a printer that is attached to the 2K machine this will need to be done.

    Also, is the Win 2K machine NTFS or FAT32?

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  8. #8
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: network access to W2K computer

    In the USER:domainusername switch, the 'domain' is optional. If you leave that out and specify only a user name, it will work fine. If you specify the machine name that you are connecting to as the domain, it will also work.
    -Mark

  9. #9
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: network access to W2K computer

    I have successfully used this in a Peer-To-Peer network by entering
    <pre>NET USE ComputernameIPC$ /user:computernameusername
    </pre>


    StuartR

  10. #10
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: network access to W2K computer

    Ok, My error I was seeing your "domain" entry as it was a requirement. <img src=/S/blush.gif border=0 alt=blush width=15 height=15>

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  11. #11
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: network access to W2K computer

    More my error, I think. Although I only intended it as an example it would have been polite to indicate tha alternatives.

    StuartR

  12. #12
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    78
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: network access to W2K computer

    Hi,
    For anyone's benefit who's been following this post, I discovered what the issue was that precipitated this problem:
    I had logged onto Windows networking on the 98 machine with a username that had not been set up in Local Users on the Win2K machine. When I relogged onto the 98 box with a valid username, I was able to connect to the W2K box with no problems.

    Thanks all for your input.

    Charlie T.

  13. #13
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: network access to W2K computer

    Is this 2K machine running NTFS?
    If so this may explain problems on some XP machines I know <img src=/S/devil.gif border=0 alt=devil width=15 height=15>

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  14. #14
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    78
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: network access to W2K computer

    Yes, it's running NTFS. But AFAIK, that shouldn't make any difference when it comes to network access.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •