Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Quickbooks problem after service pack (XP PRO)

    After installing the spfor xp (PRO), I can't view the customer or vendor service centers in QuickBooks Pro 2002. All I get in those windows is the tired old "IE, can't find the page". Does anyone else know of this problem? File extensions are fine, uninstalling & reinstalling QB didn't help. Nor does it seem to matter whether or not I'm running anything else at the same time. I'm not a computer geek, so please give constructive and understandable advice!

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,579
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: Quickbooks problem after service pack (XP PRO)

    Hi dblissmer, Are the service centers on the internet or are they local HTML files? I've seen some comments in the MS newsgroups about XP changing network settings. If the centers are not local, how are you connecting to the Internet? Can you get to other sites?

    Joe
    Joe

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Quickbooks problem after service pack (XP PRO)

    I know it's html. I connect with DSL. I have no idea whether they are local or not, not sure what that means. The information that I'm supposed to be viewing (but not) is stuff in our company files, should not have anything to do with the internet. I can't think of anywhere else to look to see what settings have been changed. Everything I've looked at looks right. Any ideas? Thanks for responding. The only thing my IT guy said was that he thinks that Quickbooks just has not caught up with Microsoft and to wait for an update, which doesn't help me at all!!!

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,579
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: Quickbooks problem after service pack (XP PRO)

    Sorry for the confusion. By local I meant on your PC or network as opposed to a site on the internet. I think your network settings have changed. Your IT guy sound like he wants to avoid the issue. SP-1 should not have afffected Quickbooks' ability to find and display HTML. If the HTML information is stored on the network then have your IT guy check your network setup or hosts file.

    Joe
    Joe

  5. #5
    2 Star Lounger bobdog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    108
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Quickbooks problem after service pack (XP PRO)

    Edited by WyllyWylly to add URL code. See the Quick Guide. <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>

    The company, vendors, customers, etc. are local html files, although just to confuse the issue, they all have internet links to Intuit's "EXTRA FEATURES!" (i.e., spam).

    The core of it all is that you have to permit java to run, and you need an updated copy of Microsoft's Virtual Machine, which is their flavor of java, as I understand it. See the bottom of http://www.quickbooks.com/support/fa...01/200638.html. The solution they recommended worked for me a week ago. This one's about 2001, which is the version I use, but I'd expect a similar comment for 2002.

    HTH

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Quickbooks problem after service pack (XP PRO)

    Well, Billy has removed the virtual java machine from his website because he & Sun got into a muscle flexing contest last year. I went to Sun Microsystems and downloaded it from there, but it did not solve the quickbooks problem. I'm ready to scream. I'm beginning to think everytime I need one of our customer's phone numbers I'm going to go blind looking it up in the association directory - which uses 2 pt. type, I think!

  7. #7
    2 Star Lounger bobdog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    108
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Quickbooks problem after service pack (XP PRO)

    What you're looking for is on the Quickbooks CD, I think. Here's an excerpt from the Intuit link I gave you a couple of lines up:

    /snip
    Note: QuickBooks requires Microsoft

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •