Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Jacksonville,NC, USA
    Posts
    705
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    sdram vs. ddr ram

    We are setting up a computer for the sole purpose of recording our bands CD. We have a music program that runs on Win 98, and is called Magix that we are using. We would like to know if we would see a major difference in the type of ram we should purchase, sdram vs. ddram. We are thinking of putting either 2 256 sticks of ddr ram or 1 516 stick into a 7200 rpm harddrive, with a 266 mhz motherboard, and a 1.7 G processor. This computer will be used solely for musical recording tracks to be mixed and melded and laid onto CD. Absolutely nothing else will be done on this computer. I'm worried about over clocking the processor if we don't have the right kind of ram. Which would you suggest we use? I appreciate your help and advice in this matter. Also, whats the major difference in buying Generic ram and others like Crucial or Musking??? Except the major difference in price?
    NMPadgett
    NMP <img src=/S/cool.gif border=0 alt=cool width=15 height=15>

    If you can't convince them, confuse them. - Harry Truman <img src=/S/scratch.gif border=0 alt=scratch width=25 height=29>

  2. #2
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: sdram vs. ddr ram

    You may not be able to "see" a big difference - but DDR SDRAM is becoming more and more widespread and is faster than the standard SDR SDRAM. I would even venture that DDR memory is the de facto standard at present. DDR is faster because it processes data requests at twice the rate of SDR memory.

    You will always get better performance in this kind of memory by using two smaller sticks as opposed to a single of the same size. The reason for that is because of the way it's designed - the CPU can address both sticks simultaneously instead of putting the memory read request in one single pipeline.

    DDR memory is available in different speeds - so make sure you note what that speed is. It's referred to using its bandwidth - PC1600, PC2100, and PC2700. If you have a 266FSB on the box, you'll need the PC2100 variety. The box I am using to reply runs the PC2100 flavor, courtesy Crucial. I can't say enough about their customer service and quality. I don't think you can easily beat Crucial's prices and free shipping. Personally, I would avoid generic RAM because you have no idea what type of quality control went into it while it was being made.

    Final thought - if you plan to overclock, check out Epox and Abit boards. Both are very solid platforms for overclocking.

    HTH,
    -Mark

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Jacksonville,NC, USA
    Posts
    705
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: sdram vs. ddr ram

    WyllyWylly,
    Thank you for the feedback. Will take your good advice as we shop and compare. As always, thank you for your good help. I have been checking into the Crucial line, and see that much testing has been done on this brand, and it always comes up on top. The Epox boards will have to look through. We do not want onboard audio, going to have to disable that, and could take a bit to do the configuration if that is the case, because we have purchased a seperate Sound Blaster 96 khz 24-bit audigy sound card. Do you think disabling the onboard audio would be a hard job? Is it a simple configuration process? The DDR SDRAM is where we were headed, just wanted your feed back there, and appreciate your thorough input. Good advice is sounder before purchase, and Crucial will be the first place I continue to look.
    Thank you.
    NMPadgett
    NMP <img src=/S/cool.gif border=0 alt=cool width=15 height=15>

    If you can't convince them, confuse them. - Harry Truman <img src=/S/scratch.gif border=0 alt=scratch width=25 height=29>

  4. #4
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: sdram vs. ddr ram

    In regards to the onboard audio, nearly every mainboard manufactured currently will have it as a "feature." My Epox board does, and even a lower-end model I recently purchased for a repair did too. Disabling it requires a quick trip into the BIOS, but it's fairly simple, and the owner's manual will tell you how it's done if you aren't comfortable poking about in the BIOS. Kudos on your selection of the Audigy, I love mine - very clean.

    Glad to be of assistance. Be sure to let us know of your successes!
    -Mark

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Jacksonville,NC, USA
    Posts
    705
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: sdram vs. ddr ram

    WyllyWylly,
    thank you for all your feedback. Very appreciative, and will let you know how it goes. Think with your good advice we are well on our way to an excellent final project. See you again, when we finish up...unless we hit a snag, else you may see me again. [img]/forums/images/smilies/smile.gif[/img]
    NMPadgett
    NMP <img src=/S/cool.gif border=0 alt=cool width=15 height=15>

    If you can't convince them, confuse them. - Harry Truman <img src=/S/scratch.gif border=0 alt=scratch width=25 height=29>

  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Dallas plus 20 miles or so, Texas, USA
    Posts
    876
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: sdram vs. ddr ram

    Wish to second Mark's recommendation on Crucial. Very nice interface for selecting the ram according to your motherboard specs, and, while I have had some problems with other online vendors' generic ram, the ram from Crucial has been spot-on every order I have placed.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •