Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 31
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    205
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    IE Search (IE 6.0.28)

    Whne I load internet explorer and then choose Search, the left pane of the window is blank. It shows only "choose a category for your search:"

    Obviously something is corrupted somewhere. How do I get this straightened out?
    JimF

  2. #2
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Long Beach, California, USA
    Posts
    1,912
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: IE Search (IE 6.0.28)

    Can you paste an image?

    Does the Customize button work?

    What do you want to be your default "Search pane" engine? Google is a nice choice and they have a .reg file that will do this for you.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    205
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: IE Search (IE 6.0.28)

    When I select Customize, a window appears with obviously only a part of what normally should appear (only choose the search service). If I select "reset" all of the normal options and settings appear. However, if I then select OK, nothing happens. I return to a blank search pane on the left side of the IE window.

    I don't really care what the default window is. If I had a choice, I would just like to get back to the deafult that MS provides, wheer you can select the search engine you want.

  4. #4
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Long Beach, California, USA
    Posts
    1,912
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: IE Search (IE 6.0.28)

    Again, can you post an image? What most people don't realize is that the "Search pane" and its Customize Pop-up Window are actually just web pages that must be downloaded off the Internet.

    For example, if you say pull the plug on your Internet Connection, then both the Search pane and the Customize Window are non-functional and essentially blank.

    So if you are seeing something different in those panes, then something is messed up with your Internet Connection....
    Attached Images Attached Images

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    205
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: IE Search (IE 6.0.28)

    I am not understanding your question about pasting an image. If you mean paste an image into the search pane, no, I can cut an image but I cannot find anywhere that allows me to paste it.

    My problem is not with the Internet connection. I believe there is something corrupted in IE 6. When I open the search pane, it says "choose a category for your search" but the rest of the pane is completely blank. If I click on New under Search, something seems to be happening but there is no change in the pane or anything else. If I click on customize, there is a choice box for the service but the rest of the window below the box is blank. If I select reset, all of the normal search option selections appear. If I make any selection in these choices and hit OK, nothing happens and the search pane remains blank.

    I have not other internet connection problems. I even turned off ZoneAlarm to make sure it was not blocking something on the search pane but got the same results.

  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Lorain, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: IE Search (IE 6.0.28)

    Have you trying doing the IE Repair?
    Control Panel/Add/Remove Icon/Install/Uninstall tab/scroll down to Microsoft Internet Explorer 6SP1 and Internet Tools - highlite that/hit Add/Remove button...then you will see a popup giving you 3 options - mark the Repair Internet Explorer, and just follow the instructions.
    Let us know if this helped.

  7. #7
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    205
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: IE Search (IE 6.0.28)

    The repair utility did not help. No change.

  8. #8
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: IE Search (IE 6.0.28)

    Jim:
    Rick (rmrucker) didn't ask you to paste an image. He asked you to post an image--i.e. take a screen shot & attach it to a post so he can see it. er, I uh bill my interpretive skills at a nominal rate. <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>

  9. #9
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Long Beach, California, USA
    Posts
    1,912
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: IE Search (IE 6.0.28)

    I actually said paste, then post! But, no matter. ;-]

    Jim, I just want to see what the screens look like!!

    But I don't need to any more -- I think I solved your problem -- you have Active Scripting turned off in the Internet zone -- and the Search site in question is in your Internet zone.

    The URL of the Search pane is this:
    http://ie.search.msn.com/en-us/srchasst/srchasst.htm

    It is just a web page that is displayed in a small window pane next to the big window pane. Double-click that link above and in the big window you will ONLY see this line:

    Choose a category for your search:

    That is it -- because to see the rest of the screen, Active Scripting has to script an ActiveX control. If you have disabled Active Scripting this Search pane will only show the first line.

    The simplest way to prove this is to add "ie.search.msn.com" to your Trusted sites zone -- and your problem will be solved.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  10. #10
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: IE Search (IE 6.0.28)

    past, paste, post...I interpret many languages...all of them incorrectly. <img src=/S/rofl.gif border=0 alt=rofl width=15 height=15>

  11. #11
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    205
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: IE Search (IE 6.0.28)

    Well, no improvement. First I added "ie.search.msn.com" to my trusted sites and it said that these sites needed to be "https://...." I realized I had "require server verification" checked and unchecked it. With that site added, no change - still blank search pane. Then I tried adding "http://i.e.search.msn.com". Again, no change. With both of these added to Trusted Sites, I click on the link you provided and I get a blank window with only "choose a category for your search:"

  12. #12
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Long Beach, California, USA
    Posts
    1,912
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: IE Search (IE 6.0.28)

    Do other scripts run? What about ActiveX?

    This page requires Scripting of an ActiveX control -- so if either of these are disabled, then you won't get the full page.

    What are your Trusted sites settings? Is ActiveX and Scripting fully enabled? How about Pop-up stoppers? Are you using any of those? (outside chance...) What other 'security' measures have you taken? Proxomitron??
    _______________________

    Below is an image with the site in the Internet zone -- with Scripting disabled. This is EXACTLY what you will see on your computer. Why isn't your IE scripting this ActiveX control? What is interfering? Something is preventing your IE from running Active Content.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  13. #13
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    531
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: IE Search (IE 6.0.28)

    Rick--
    This is good information. I have had what I think is being described happen, but it happened transiently, and I didn't make any knowing changes, but your explanations got into helpful areas.
    Jim F---if Rick's fix isn't working and running what in XP I would call the Add/Remove fix wizard--(and MS calls the "Internet Explorer repair tool" in their resource kit).-- Mark (Willy Willy) had a post on this not too long ago.Like Ilona suggested, then go to steps 2 and 3. They don't take that long and may well fix what might be a corrupted dll or file that is causing your problem in setting up search. You can quicly use SFC to fix IE by restoring missing or corrupted files for it from the DLLcache folder's stach.This is probably the second step I would use to fix IE .
    If this doesn't work, there is a regedit that the KB suggests. I referenced them in these threads and it worked for me. Sometimes if you have the XP disc in, it still prompts you to have the disc in and there is a change you make to prevent this in Group Policy Editor.
    All of this is in the KB's linked in the threads and, additionally, Doug Knox has a run box command that might be a simple way to try to fix IE. Doug Knox's tips seem to work well for me.
    <A target="_blank" HREF="http://www.wopr.com/cgi-bin/w3t/showflat.pl?Cat=&Board=ie&Number=170649&page=0&vie w=collapsed&sb=5&o=93&fpart=">
    The KB's and Ways to Fix IE in this thread</A>
    and Doug Knox's Repair IE command this thread

    Good luck,

    defrag

  14. #14
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    205
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: IE Search (IE 6.0.28)

    I have run SFC and no problems were found.

    I have enabled everything even mentioning Active X under IE Internet Options, Security, Custom Level - no change in the problem.

    Trusted site settings are "ie.search.msn.com" and "http://ie.search.msn.com".

    I run ZoneAlarm Pro. But if I disable it, the problem does not change.

    The image you attached is the same image I see (in the Search pane or in the main window).

    Where else do I look for Active X scripting enabling?

  15. #15
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Long Beach, California, USA
    Posts
    1,912
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: IE Search (IE 6.0.28)

    Jim - it sounds like you might need to reinstall some of the scripting files. Does ANY scripting work on any web page?? {Most of this site is in Perl -- is there any script on this site?? I don't really know!}

    You can test scripting on the Windows Update site. Go there and try to click on one of the "Read this First" links. These use JavaScript to pop-up a little window that describes the update. See if those little windows pop-up.
    __________________________________

    Correction. If you go to the WindowsUpdate site, you can't even get your computer's "catalog of updates" without JavaScript running. So, if you ever get to the "Select Software" screen -- then at least some component of Scripting is working. This site also uses scripting of an ActiveX control -- in the same light as the Search pane -- so it would be a good test for you to run.

    You may want to see if the download of the Search pane was complete. Do this by right-clicking on the blank search page and select "View Source". You should see a lot more that just that one sentence.
    _________________________________

    As best I can tell, this is the latest script engine from Microsoft:
    Windows Script 5.6
    You might just need to upgrade or reinstall yor scripting engine files. You will note this page does not mention the XP operating system, but word-of-mouth says it is the version that came with WinXP.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •