Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    requesting virus scan

    Every time I open anything in office 2000 I get down in the left hand corner "requesting virus scan". I have Norton's anti virus installed. I have done everything I can think of short of throwing the box out the window to get rid of this slow down. Help Please......

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: requesting virus scan

    This part of SR-1a and there is NOTHING you can do about it. It is part of the fix tha MS did to protect you from some of the email virus's.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  3. #3
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: requesting virus scan

    Hi Dave:
    I have Office 2000 & SR1-a & don't get this. Do you mean SR-2, which I deliberately didn't install?

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: requesting virus scan

    It is in sr1a, I do NOT have SR -2 installed either, I listen to Woody. Once a file has been read and saved, you will not see this message. Most of the files that I get from another by the way of a email or down load I will see this message. I think it is in the lower LH corner of your MS Word window, in the status bar. But if you have the status bar turned off you may not see it.[img]/w3timages/icons/alien.gif[/img][img]/w3timages/icons/scream.gif[/img]

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  5. #5
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: requesting virus scan

    Hi Dave:
    I have the status bar turned on in Word 2000. Maybe it has something to do with the NAV settings. I have an old version, 4.something in NAV. But I've never had a slowdown in opening a document (except that macro disable warning, if there's macros).

  6. #6
    wwwolfe
    Guest

    Re: requesting virus scan

    It is definitely Norton Anti Virus. At least it started happening the moment I installed SystemWorks. Unfortunately disabling AutoProtect does not help. Anyone have a suggestion?

  7. #7
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: requesting virus scan

    A few seconds of protection is worth the wait.[img]/w3timages/icons/dragon.gif[/img] I have spent way to much time cleaning others computers because they<font color=red> never get virus's.</font color=red> If this catches ONLY one virus it is worth the time.[img]/w3timages/icons/grin.gif[/img][img]/w3timages/icons/crazy.gif[/img]

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  8. #8
    pd374
    Guest

    Re: requesting virus scan

    I have faced this situation before and I found a document via Symantecs email support that describes a command line that will disable the virus scan in all Office Documents. The command line looks like this:
    "C:WindowsSystemRegsvr32" -u "C:Program FilesNorton SystemWorksNorton AntiVirusofficeAV.dll" where Norton system works is located on the C Drive. If you would like a copy of the document emailed to you, send me an email and I will forward it on.

  9. #9
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: requesting virus scan

    I agree with Dave. That's kind of drastic. I would want a virus scan every time I open a document. If NAV is too slow, maybe there are some settings that will make it faster, or maybe another Anti-virus program. Just my 2 cents.

  10. #10
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: requesting virus scan

    Sorry, but it's not part of SR-1a per se. That's what I'm running but not with (shudder) Norton AV. I use Command (F-Prot) and never get a message unless there is actually a virus in the document, in which case Command won't let me open it until it's disinfected.
    Charlotte

  11. #11
    DJC
    Guest

    Re: requesting virus scan

    I had it in office 2000 there is a setting in Word under options to prevent this. I am currently at work and use Word 97 at work but 2000 at home.

    i will try to remember to update this message when I get home[img]/w3timages/icons/clown.gif[/img]

  12. #12
    DJC
    Guest

    Re: requesting virus scan

    I found it.
    However the answer was not in Word 2000 it was in my options under Norton Anti Virus 2001

    If you Have Norton Anti Virus 2001 go to options then go to General and then uncheck enable plugin for Word 2000 this will stop the scanning of a Word 2000 documents which can as some have said slow thing up

    Hope this Helps some one [img]/w3timages/icons/clever.gif[/img]

  13. #13
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: requesting virus scan

    There's a setting under Tools-->Macro-->Security for setting the level of security on macros, if that's what you mean. In my installation, it says No Virus Scanner Installed, apparently because I don't use the AV that comes with Office. My anti-virus has active protection enabled and refuses to let me open an infected document, period.
    Charlotte

  14. #14
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: requesting virus scan

    Dave, Thanks for your reply... It realy is not that long to load and its better than having to mess with a virus. You see, I thought it was something that I was doing. Paranoia?

  15. #15
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: requesting virus scan

    Thanks for the feed back. Also I just remembered that I installed SR-1a and Norton's 2001 at about the same time. It appears that I made a error thinking that this was with SR-1a.[img]/w3timages/icons/scream.gif[/img]

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •