Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: FTP (6.0.2800)

  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Kalgoorlie, Western Australia, Australia
    Posts
    155
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    FTP (6.0.2800)

    How can I upload files using IE? I try putting in the FTP address and it does the old search light for a while and give the attached error.

    Netscape 4.7 could upload files without any problems - but I don't have that any more.

    Can someone help?
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Coppell, Texas, USA
    Posts
    168
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: FTP (6.0.2800)

    Two things come to mind:

    IE uses anonymous access by default. If you need to logon to a specific FTP account, include it in the URL: ftp://myuserID@ftp.domain.com.

    If you're behind a firewall (which seems more likely to be the issue), try enabling Passive FTP in the Internet Options (Tools > Internet Options > Advanced tab).
    Attached Images Attached Images

  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Kalgoorlie, Western Australia, Australia
    Posts
    155
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: FTP (6.0.2800)

    Thanks Charlie

    I am using ftp://myuserID@ftp.domain.com and Passive FTP was already enabled.

    My ISP (my University) does not allow FTP programs to get through but when I asked their Help Desk they said to use Netscape or IE to upload.

    Can anyone else help?

  4. #4
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Coppell, Texas, USA
    Posts
    168
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: FTP (6.0.2800)

    The information they gave you is contradictory - if an FTP program can't get through, neither can IE or Netscape using FTP. FTP is a protocol (like HTTP) that defines the information exchange between the server and client. It won't matter what client you're using if there's no FTP server available (because it's disabled or the port for FTP is blocked on the host) It's possible that FTP is on another port, but the help desk should know that.

    I think you need to get a different help desk person to work with. The way you've got IE configured you shouldn't have any problem using it to view, copy or add files on an FTP server. I do this with FTP servers on UNIX and NT hosts, with and without filewalls.

    HTH

  5. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Kalgoorlie, Western Australia, Australia
    Posts
    155
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: FTP (6.0.2800)

    This is what I thought - but when I try to use any client except Netscape it doesn't work. Weird. I'll try to get them to tell me more info.

    Thanks

  6. #6
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Coppell, Texas, USA
    Posts
    168
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: FTP (6.0.2800)

    Just a thought: check the proxy settings in Netscape. If you're on corporate/campus network, there may be a proxy for HTTP, FTP, etc., to get around blocked or filtered ports. I think it's under Edit>Preferences>Advanced>Proxies in Netscape.

    HTH

  7. #7
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Kalgoorlie, Western Australia, Australia
    Posts
    155
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: FTP (6.0.2800)

    Unfortunately I uninstalled Netscape so I don't know the settings <img src=/S/blackhole.gif border=0 alt=blackhole width=15 height=15> - but...

    I found the following site - http://www.unlimitedftp.ca/ which has HTTP tunneling for FTP (or some such thing) and my placeholder page is now up <img src=/S/cloud9.gif border=0 alt=cloud9 width=25 height=23>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •