Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cheadle, Staffordshire
    Posts
    2,177
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Bar Code Font (A2000 SR1)

    Could any one recommend a bar code font and where to download from.
    I have a HP Keywand.

    Thanks

    Dave

  2. #2
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cheadle, Staffordshire
    Posts
    2,177
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Bar Code Font (A2000 SR1)

    I've downloaded a Code39 barcode font and installed thru control panel.

    I could do with some help on setting this up in a database.
    What I want to do is give all my operatives a barcode generated from their names.
    Each day the operative will swipe on in the morning and swipe off in the evening.
    so I presume the table will look something like.

    ID-Autonumber PK
    Operative-Text
    TimeOn-Date/Time {Default-=Now()}
    TimeOff-Date/Time {Default-=Now()}

    How can I acheive this.
    Is their anything special I need to know on setting this up.

    Regards
    Dave

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    379
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Bar Code Font (A2000 SR1)

    Are you trying to track Employee Clock in and Clock out Times? If so, I have a TimeClock application that would be similar, however it holds a bit more information. For the portion that you are addressing, it has two tables Employee (Key is EmployeeID) and Time(Key is EmployeeID and WorkDate). The relationship is one to many. I used the BarCode font to issue Employee tags with their EmployeeID barcoded. They clock in and out by swiping their tag and the application stamps their Time record with the current Date and Time when they Clock in and Clock out. I would suggest using an EmployeeID, if possible, for the key instead of an AutoNumber and keeping all other Employee specific information, like Operative text (is this their name?) in the Employee table. It is better normalized and makes it much more efficient to do Time Reporting. HTH

  4. #4
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cheadle, Staffordshire
    Posts
    2,177
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Bar Code Font (A2000 SR1)

    Thanks Thomas
    Would it be possible for a cut down demo of your program.
    I would like to take a look at it.
    Regards
    Dave

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    379
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Bar Code Font (A2000 SR1)

    I'm sorry Dave, but client confidentiality prohibits me from doing that. The application is very environment specific, so removing the confidential portions would leave very little to look at. However, I would be happy to answer any questions or provide non-client specific code or assistance. Let me know what would be helpful to you.

  6. #6
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cheadle, Staffordshire
    Posts
    2,177
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Bar Code Font (A2000 SR1)

    What I need may very basic, just to help me to understand how to implement the bar code system.
    A single form with minimal information.

    Operative
    Date and time on
    Date and time off

    I would like the Operative name to be the barcode font.
    The dates and times can be generated automatically.
    I would need some kind of ID card for the operative for clocking purposes.

    If yourself or anyone else could help with a short demo of this, I can disect it to see how it ticks.

    Thanks again
    Dave

  7. #7
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    379
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Bar Code Font (A2000 SR1)

    I have been trying to pull it apart to get only the TimeClock functionality on the form, but I have been unsuccessful. Clocking In and Out of this application checks for open Work Orders and assigns Work Orders, so I need a bit more time. Just didn't want you to think I forgot about you.

  8. #8
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cheadle, Staffordshire
    Posts
    2,177
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Bar Code Font (A2000 SR1)

    Thanks Thomas, I understand.

    Regards
    Dave

  9. #9
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    379
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Bar Code Font (A2000 SR1)

    It is attached as an Access97, so you will need to convert it. The process is to open frmMain, which has a Timer event and scan the Employee's barcoded ID card. In the morning, it clocks employees in and in the afternoon, it clocks employees out. The subform will change depending on the time of day (either frmClockIn or frmClockOut). In the morning, it writes a tblTime record with a ClockInTime; in the afternoon it updates the proper record with a ClockOutTime. Their barcode reader sends a tab character at the end of the EmployeeID scan, so if you are typing in an EmployeeID, press tab to complete the process. You have be very quick because of the Timer Interval. This works for the scanner, but is tough for typing, so just change the timer interval until you start scanning. The code behind the forms checks for a valid EmployeeID and also checks for a few other errors the employees typically make. HTH
    Attached Files Attached Files

  10. #10
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cheadle, Staffordshire
    Posts
    2,177
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Bar Code Font (A2000 SR1)

    Thanks Thomas for your sample, I get the idea now.

    I've tried using a 3 of 9 font but not having much success.
    I've been told a 128 font will be better.
    Which type do you use ?
    I've tried to find a 128 font and not coming up with much.
    Can you suggest a source.

    Regards
    Dave

  11. #11
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    379
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Bar Code Font (A2000 SR1)

    What isn't working properly for you - scanning it into the database? Are you using a start/stop character?

    Many years ago one of my clients bought barcode fonts and scanners from Azalea Software. I used their Code39 SmallMedium-Regular at font size 14 with an asterisk start/stop character. It works in all the barcode applications that I have, but it wasn't free. I remember that I needed to increase the font size for the scanner to work properly.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •