Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 35
  1. #1
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,306
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    IntelliMouse Optical

    Hi
    Has anyone experienced the MS Intellimouse Explorer going wrong? I can't see anything wrong with the optical sensor, but in Win 2k the pointer starts to jump, then may disappear or freeze, requiring a re-boot to bring it back. I have installed the proper 2k drivers (and re-installed fully several times) but it always seems to do it again. Safe Mode sheds no further light, nor does altering the working surface.
    When I replace it with a similar PS/2 wheel mouse (but non-optical) everything works fine.
    Has my Intellimouse bitten the proverbial dust, or is there anything else I can try? (It is not still under warranty). All ideas will be listened to, and tried out. Probably.[img]/w3timages/icons/crazy.gif[/img]

  2. Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

    Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

    + Get this BONUS — free!

    Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

  3. #2
    WS Lounge VIP rory's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Burwash, East Sussex, United Kingdom
    Posts
    5,896
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 86 Times in 82 Posts

    Re: IntelliMouse Optical

    Hi MerC,
    I had a similar problem a few days ago with a standard PS/2 mouse - it's now in a bin after every other mouse I tried worked perfectly. It was a cheap one however!
    Regards,
    Rory
    Microsoft MVP - Excel.

  4. #3
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Northern, California, USA
    Posts
    1,886
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: IntelliMouse Optical

    MerC, i've got the Trackball optical, and I notice these problems the instant my system resources go kaput... perhaps this is related to your problem? If not, you might try re-installing your driverset, or checking with MS for an update.

    Hope this helps!

    Drk.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/Kel_sig.gif>
    Moderator:<font color=448800> Pix Place, Internet Explorer</font color=448800>
    <small>www.kvisions.com

  5. #4
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: IntelliMouse Optical

    I would suspect a physical problem - anything from a bad internal joint to a bad plug. (It reminds me of the problems I have when switching between two pc's using a KVM switch.)
    In theory, the optical should be more reliable than a mechanical version. We have several here - all MS and all working reliably.
    My vote is it has gone past its best before date.
    Just as a BTW - because of incompatibility with one piece of software I have, I installed Logitech drivers. Seems quite compatible other than losing the second right button.

  6. #5
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,306
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: IntelliMouse Optical

    Tx for the replies, guys. You got it : my trusty MS optical went zombie on me. Died, but kept up the appearance of being alive - the red light never went out.
    Got me a replacement (10UKP cheaper than this time last year) but this time I set it up as a USB device. Also, after the Logitech idea, I installed Ami Trust software as well, which for some totally unknown reason allows all the MS buttons to function, with the addition that the scroll-wheel button, instead of autoscrolling, can now be set to zoom.
    It's an ill wind, and all that...

  7. #6
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Boston suburb (Acton), Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    89
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: IntelliMouse Optical

    CompUSA & Microsoft plug (!)
    I don't buy much from CompUSA, but I couldn't find an Intellimouse Explorer when they were new from my normal sources. What a delight to find out that it comes with a lifetime guarantee from Microsoft and that CompUSA will swap it out on the spot.
    Sadly (for Microsoft) I've had to do it twice alreaady!
    ...
    now I'll have to check out the Logitech drivers...

  8. #7
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: IntelliMouse Optical

    Referring to your recent posts..
    Did you ever try washing it ?
    [img]/S/nuts.gif[/img]

  9. #8
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,306
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: IntelliMouse Optical

    [img]/S/rofl.gif[/img] No, it wasn't dirty....
    Anyway, all those pretty red lights inside make me think that there may be things in there other than simple copper contacts.
    I take it you're not a believer in washing keybds?

  10. #9
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: IntelliMouse Optical

    I work in electronics and to me, water and electricity do not mix. To be honest, it would never occur to me to wash a keyboard other than to gingerly clean the keys.

    I'm intrigued by some of the posts. The idea that compressed air can 'blow a rail' - air is not normally a conductor (for 5V) unless it is carrying a large water content - doesn't quite ring true. Depending on the pressure, physical damage could occur - so don't use the air-line at your local garage - it will also carry a very high water content.
    Electronic circuit boards, such as keyboards, are routinely 'washed' during/after production and in these days of 'nasty' solvents and the ozone layer, water-based solutions are used. However, we are talking about a controlled environment where the product is quickly dried.

    In summary, I would suggest that the water itself can not cause a problem as long as the keyboard is thoroughly dried. Depending on the build quality, some solder joints are liable to corosion, but this is just as likely to manifest over time due to the normal water content of the atmosphere. The normal copper tracks of the circuit board should be protected by the green 'solder mask'.
    The conduction of any remaining water can cause problems with the semiconductors ranging from false inputs to total failure. I am somewhat sceptical of water being able to carry a short-circuit of 5A, (a malfunctioning IC might), and the standard keyboard cable would be hard pushed to carry 5A, certainly without raising the immediate ambient temperature.

    Regarding spillage, one thing to note is that citrus fruits contain an acid which eats copper. Spilt orange juice, for example, should be treated as a much more urgent keyboard-laundry item than coffee to prevent possible long term damage.

    I have attempted washing a keyboard in the past. From memory, I simply achieved moving the gunge from one none-working key to several others... <img src=/S/crazy.gif border=0 width=15 height=15>


    ______________________ <img src=/S/flatcat.gif border=0 width=61 height=21>______________________
    I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I

    (I'm definitely on the fence on this one.....)

  11. #10
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,306
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: IntelliMouse Optical

    Hi Leif

  12. #11
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: IntelliMouse Optical

    I'm beginning to enjoy this <img src=/S/devil.gif border=0 width=15 height=15> ...

    >> No part of my system pulls 5amps either...
    Not at 240VAC it doesn't:-
    5A x 240V = 1.2KW.
    1.2KW / 5V = 240A (potentially).
    A typical 250W PC PSU will supply something like 10A at 12V and 25A at 5V. (See <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.directron.com/at230w.html>http://www.directron.com/at230w.html</A>). Your HD may draw well over 2A on start-up (but then we don't switch off, do we?...)

    >> Solder should not normally corrode...
    Not normally, no. But it wouldn't normally be wet. Plus there are an unknown number of additives now replacing banned flux. Dry joints are particularly susceptible to damp simply because they allow moisture into the joint and the component pin. If you don't believe solder joints corrode, I can glady send you some sample repairs we have received and are beyond hope.

    >> There's no acid you're likely to have around that will corrode copper...
    Citric acid will corrode copper, zinc, aluminum and their alloys - see <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.jtbaker.com/msds/c4730.htm>http://www.jtbaker.com/msds/c4730.htm</A>. Having something as seemingly innocuous as an orange in our production department is a dismissable offence. (We are talking relatively long term exposure here - not a few hours cooking followed by immersion in hot soapy water.)

    >> Water does not affect copper either...
    Are you honestly telling me you've never seen a trace of green on a copper pipe? Ever? Or a green church roof?

    But enough of this. I am moved to put this theory to the test and shall be taking a grubby kb home to the dishwasher tonight. (That's the machine, not my nearest and dearest - unless she insists on the shower method....)
    I shall give it a few days to dry out and let you know.

    <img src=/S/laugh.gif border=0 width=15 height=15>

  13. #12
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles, California, USA
    Posts
    1,734
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post

    Re: IntelliMouse Optical

    >>Cooking food can be done quite safely in copper-bottomed pans.

    Copper-*bottomed* pans are fine but it's no longer considered a good idea to let food come into *contact* with copper.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/Eileen_sig.gif>

  14. #13
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: IntelliMouse Optical

    ... and there is a theory about aluminium pans and Altzheimer's, too...

  15. #14
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,306
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: IntelliMouse Optical

    me too, so not quite enough yet.

  16. #15
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles, California, USA
    Posts
    1,734
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post

    Re: IntelliMouse Optical

    and... conversely, iron cookware is recommended because of the traces of iron picked up by the food.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/Eileen_sig.gif>

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •