Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    One Laptop, Two Locations (Win XP Pro)

    I've got this laptop that's been "assigned" to me at the place where I now do volunteer work part-time. It just came back from a repair trip to the manufacturer, but that was another thread! I installed XP Pro and a whole bunch of software on it while AT HOME where I have a PTP network. I was careful to use the same USERNAME that I would be using at the office where they use a domain. My thinking was that I would use a little program I used in the past called NetSwitcher to change the network settings for the domain entries. Hoped for results would be, as I used to do with Win98, run NetSwitcher, choose the Home or Office settings and be on my way.

    Well, it has all worked as planned except for one "little" thing. In the Documents And Settings folder there is now a second entry, created when I fired it up at the office, installed the IP nums needed and joined the domain. In this folder, there is a USERNAME entry (for at home) and a USERNAME.DOMAIN entry (office) as well. All the software works and there are NO operational problems, except the "annoyance" of having to make all the GUI tweaks and settings I like all over again, like QuickLaunch, Classic settings and on, and on it goes.

    Isn't there a way to combine these two entries? It's the same user, machine name and as we know, the domain controller is in charge of "security" so.....

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,592
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: One Laptop, Two Locations (Win XP Pro)

    BigAl, New pic? Have you tried MY Computer | Properties | Advanced. Then Settings in the User profiles section. Then use the copy to function. You may need to be logged in with administrative rights. I'm not sure it will copy GUI changes but worth a try.

    Joe
    Joe

  3. #3
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,592
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: One Laptop, Two Locations (Win XP Pro)

    Hey BigAl, Forgot in my prior post that this is normal behavior for XP. When you join a domain if the username already has a local account then you get then .domainname added. Don't forget to add the domain user to the appropriate local user groups else you may run into problems with applications , utilities, & other programs. BTW, if the 'copy' function does not work then you can manually copy the my docs & settings for the local user to the domain user (don't think that will get all the GUI changes though). If you are not going to use the local user you can then delete using the control panel and delete the folders in my docs..

    Joe
    Joe

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: One Laptop, Two Locations (Win XP Pro)

    Yeah, thanx to WyllyWylly and his photo of the two of us - see Scuttlebutt.

    Thanx for that tip, Joe, I never noticed that Copy To button in there. I did just now notice on THIS machine that the Copy To Button "greys out" when you select the currently logged on user. When I fire up the laptop I'll try logging on as the built-in Administrator and see if it'll do any good for me. I'm game for a try, since I just made a backup image of the drive over the weekend.

  5. #5
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,592
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: One Laptop, Two Locations (Win XP Pro)

    Hey BigAl, Was just in the MS general XP newsgroup and saw this reply from Kelly Theriot (has a terrific XP site) about XP user creation:

    Copy a User Profile
    > > http://www.kellys-korner-xp.com/win_xp_logon.htm
    > >
    > > HOW TO: Create a Custom Default User Profile:
    > > http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?...B;EN-US;Q305709
    > >
    > > HOW TO: Distribute a Custom Desktop Theme to Users
    > > http://support.microsoft.com/?id=kb;en-us;Q310514

    hth,
    Joe
    Joe

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: One Laptop, Two Locations (Win XP Pro)

    Thanks for the followup, Joe. I was about to write back to tell you that I don't think (at least in what I've got so far) that profile copying is the answer. I booted the laptop and logged on as "The" Administrator. Other than the one "user" I created, the only other users that show up are the guest and MS thingie which I don't pay attention to. So, evidently XP believes it IS dealing with ONE user but with two different sets of logon conditions (home workgroup and office domain) so it creates the TWO folders under Documents and Settings. I'm gonna go look at your three links now and see if there's a clue in there somewhere. Thanks Joe, for helping!

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: One Laptop, Two Locations (Win XP Pro)

    Voila, Joe! I think that 2nd link is the answer to what I need. I had no idea you could use that Copy To thing to make a chosen profile the DEFAULT. In my case, the chosen profile is the one with all the settings and look-and-feel I created while at home, logged on to my WORKGROUP. I think I'll try copying it to the AllUsers profile AND the one with the "dot-domain name" tacked onto the end. Don't see that I have anything to lose by trying.

    Besides the look and feel and settings preferences, there are other little snits that jump up and bite you. I set up Mozilla for example, while at home and NOW that dot-domain-name profile has a "clean" Mozilla profile that I don't really want. Oh, the little complications of being "mobile," huh? Thanks again for the pointers, Joe!

  8. #8
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,592
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: One Laptop, Two Locations (Win XP Pro)

    BigAl, You quite welcome. Glad to be of some assistance.

    Good luck,

    Joe
    Joe

  9. #9
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    549
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: One Laptop, Two Locations (Win XP Pro)

    Hi Al and Joe, thanks for those links, lots of information there relating to XP that is useful. I also found your question Al an interesting one, though it has not come up yet, I am certain it will relating to one of the machines I use with XP and various networks. <img src=/S/cool.gif border=0 alt=cool width=15 height=15>

  10. #10
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: One Laptop, Two Locations (Win XP Pro)

    Hi there, Ms. "C." Good to see you're still hacking away at the ol' XP. Yeah, this business of User Profiles is kind of a new area for me, especially where laptops are concerned. Moving from a workgroup to a domain and back again needs a little thought, for a lot of reasons, not the least of which is software settings, like browser, email and so on. I'm hoping that the link Joe provided on how to setup a default user profile will provide the basis for a good solution in my case, but I'll be posting back one way or the other. One does need to be careful by the way, on that MS page. It was written for Windows 2000 and all the "clicks" are not exactly as XP is laid out, but I was able to get it OK.

    The next time I'm over at KET, I'm going to ask some of the other wizards there, who all use laptops at the office and at home, how they have THEIR machines setup. So, more later.....

  11. #11
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    549
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: One Laptop, Two Locations (Win XP Pro)

    I understand where you are coming from Al, in my case I am used to setting up laptops for work as well as home use, and therefore need to be able to log into the company and my ISP (as I am not connected 24/7 at home). Hope you have it working well now. <img src=/S/hello.gif border=0 alt=hello width=25 height=29>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •