Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Ohio, USA
    Posts
    56
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Screen resolution (XP- home)

    When I change screen resolution on my account it changes for all the other user (wife and children) accounts. Is there a way to prevent this?
    What if your local back-up disks are stolen or damaged (fire, flood, earthquake)
    What are you going to do?
    LOCAL and OFFSITE back-up - the only true way to protect your data.


  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Screen resolution (XP- home)

    Being that "screen resolution " is hardware related I don NOT think there is a way. But I have on my machines a ATI icon in the Systray where I can make these changes in a few seconds. See what addins your graphic card OEM provides.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  3. #3
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Ohio, USA
    Posts
    56
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Screen resolution (XP- home)

    When changing my screen resolution, I am doing it from within Windows. I right click on the desktop, select properties, settings and then make the change there. So, it's a software change, that's why I assumed that it could be different between multiple users on the same machine. Instead, it changes the resolution on everybody's account.

    Thanks for the help though.

    Rob
    What if your local back-up disks are stolen or damaged (fire, flood, earthquake)
    What are you going to do?
    LOCAL and OFFSITE back-up - the only true way to protect your data.


  4. #4
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    New York, New York, USA
    Posts
    2,328
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Screen resolution (XP- home)

    Unfortunately, Microsoft considers screen resolution is hardware setting, and so it is part of computer configuration, not user profile. However, you can change screen resolution by choosing HARDWARE PROFILE. It will require rebooting each time you change it (it will be longer then logon and logoff).
    To create additional hardware profile, press Windows key and Pause/Break key on your keyboard simultaneously ( or click Start | Control Panel | Performance and Maintenance | System), then click Hardware tab, then Hardware Profiles button (near the bottom of the window). On the next screen, click Copy button and choose the name of a new profile ("Profile 2" or "My Screen" or whatever). Click OK. Then you can choose booting options. Reboot your computer to a new profile and change screen resolution. To change screen resolution back and force, you must restart your computer and choose appropriate profile.
    This is the only solution I know.

  5. #5
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Ohio, USA
    Posts
    56
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Screen resolution (XP- home)

    Thanks for hint! I'll give it a try and see if the family screams. <img src=/S/laugh.gif border=0 alt=laugh width=15 height=15>

    Rob <img src=/S/groovin.gif border=0 alt=groovin width=21 height=21>
    What if your local back-up disks are stolen or damaged (fire, flood, earthquake)
    What are you going to do?
    LOCAL and OFFSITE back-up - the only true way to protect your data.


  6. #6
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Seattle, Washington
    Posts
    320
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Screen resolution (XP- home)

    One thing you can do, is to change a number of settings within Windows...icon size, font size (through internet explorer/view/text size). I had XP set up for myself and my father and achieved a quite readable (for him) screen, and then a much smaller font screen for myself. I realize this would not help much for games, etc, but for general internet use there's a lot you can do short of actually changing screen resolutions. Just a thought.

    kip

  7. #7
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia, Australia
    Posts
    730
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Screen resolution (XP- home)

    This "solution" is pretty much what I've been reduced to, too <img src=/S/igiveup.gif border=0 alt=igiveup width=31 height=23>. I thought I'd overlooked something obvious and didn't think to check the Lounge & MS KB until I'd spent eons <img src=/S/brickwall.gif border=0 alt=brickwall width=25 height=15>. And of course it's all courtesy of MS behavior is by design, see KB 281565.

    The behaviour being (vainly) sought in this thread [was in W98, and apparently in W2K, too. But, then again, maybe none of that was by design and should have been regarded as misbehaviour <img src=/S/sarcasm.gif border=0 alt=sarcasm width=15 height=15>? Regardless, I miss it, as do my better half, my daughter, and a few others by the sounds of it. Given that the behaviour was in W2K, also an NT-based system, I suspect it got scuttled to enable "fast user switching". If so, it's a pity we weren't given the option to choose between the two. I'd trade fast user switching for log on/off with selectable screen resolutions in a flash.

    The hardware profiles route is too slow & painful, especially when the current dialup connection gets canned in the process.

    I'd like to try one of the systray resolution changers, but I've found that if I forget to change back to 1600 x 1200 from a lower resolution before logging on, my icon layout goes <img src=/S/toilet.gif border=0 alt=toilet width=24 height=26> (Auto arrange is OFF, Align to grid ON). And that's a real <img src=/S/bummer.gif border=0 alt=bummer width=15 height=15>.
    <font face="Comic Sans MS" color="blue">TimOz</font>
    <img src=/S/flags/Finland.gif border=0 alt=Finland width=30 height=18> <img src=/S/flags/Australia.gif border=0 alt=Australia width=30 height=18>

  8. #8
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia, Australia
    Posts
    730
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Screen resolution (XP- home)

    <img src=/S/fanfare.gif border=0 alt=fanfare width=31 height=23> There's a workaround that does the job - see <!post=UniqueDisplay,250042 >UniqueDisplay<!/post> <img src=/S/clapping.gif border=0 alt=clapping width=19 height=23>.
    <font face="Comic Sans MS" color="blue">TimOz</font>
    <img src=/S/flags/Finland.gif border=0 alt=Finland width=30 height=18> <img src=/S/flags/Australia.gif border=0 alt=Australia width=30 height=18>

  9. #9
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Screen resolution (XP- home)

    My compliments, Tim! You've got a great memory. When I saw your post in the software forum about this "find" I knew there had been a fairly recent post on the topic but I couldn't find it. I hope he's still checking this thread.....

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •