Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: SCSI vs. IDE

  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    188
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    SCSI vs. IDE

    Howdy, Can I have both SCSI and IDE hard drives installed in 1 computer? My motherboard "appears" to support both. It's a used Micron with a Pentium 90 with a 3.5" floppy and a 3gig SCSI IBM hard drive installed.
    Thanks for all of your expert advice...

  2. #2
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Darkest Kent, UK., Kent, England
    Posts
    257
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: SCSI vs. IDE

    Yes, you can. So long as each drive's jumper settings are correct, and the SCSI chain is terminated, all will be well.

    Which OS are you using? Is the SCSI built into the motherboard or via a ISA/PCI card?

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Darkest Kent, UK., Kent, England
    Posts
    257
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: SCSI vs. IDE

    I've just seen your earlier post about removing the existing SCSI drive altogether. Can I ask you, what is the spec of this system? How many hard drives (SCSI and IDE) and what capacity are they?

    You also mentioned about the possibility of 're-using' a version of W98 which is on an old drive?? Unless this is on a drive that was used on this same system previously, I'd stay well away and reinstall from fresh.

    Give us a shout if you need help through the setup of these drives.

  4. #4
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    188
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: SCSI vs. IDE

    The SCSI drive is via a card that can be removed. The motherboard has 3 slots. Primary , Secondary and Floppy. The SCSI is hooked up via the Floppy slot. What I want to do is remove the SCSI altogether and install 1 WD IDE 40 gig hard drive. When I boot, it tells me the press CTL A to access SCSI utilities... Is this where I would disable all refrences to SCSI? The Phoenix BIOs has Primary and Secondary master and slave settings Auto Detect possibly, I'm not sure. But if you could walk me the removing the SCSI and setting up the IDE, I have a WIN 98 installation CD once the drive is installed. I think the WD drives come with a Data Lifeguard Utility I would use to install. Sorry to ramble on, but I purchased this system for 7 bucks and want to throw a hundred bucks into it for the kids to do word processing and play games. Thanks for listening. I appreciate it....

  5. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    188
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: SCSI vs. IDE

    Pentium 90 with 64 megs of RAM. 1 SCSI drive 3.3 gig.

  6. #6
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Darkest Kent, UK., Kent, England
    Posts
    257
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: SCSI vs. IDE

    Hi J,

    OK, when you remove the SCSI card you will also be removing all references to it. That is to say, the Phoenix BIOS message will no longer appear. Remove the 3GB SCSI drive as well as it's now redundant without the card. We could leave both of these in, but for the moment we'll keep it simple.

    I don't understand what you mean about this card being hooked up via the 'floppy' 'slot'. Do you mean there is a ribbon cable going from the SCSI card into a socket on the motherboard labelled 'floppy'?? It doesn't make sense to me if this is the case. We should be dealing with three different widths of connector here - the floppy connector which is 34 pin, the IDE which is 40 pin (might be 80 pin if it's an ATA100 cable, but it's still the same width) and the SCSI which is (probably) 50 pin. Wide, wider, widest. The widest one, the SCSI, is now out of the equation as you've just removed it along with the card and drive. The IDE cable goes from the hard drive/CD-ROM to the Primary 'slot' on the motherboard. The floppy goes from the floppy drive into the Floppy 'slot'. Pay close attention to which way round each cable is connected. See here for photos.

    <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15> I apologise if it seems like I am 'dumbing down' my explanation. My aim is for clarity rather than confusion! <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>

    Anyway, take it from here and post back. We've got to talk about system BIOS limitations and whether you need to download the latest BIOS version in order for your 40GB drive to be recognised. Oh, and we'll need to discuss the FAT32/NTFS partition issue. (That was as a reminder for my own benefit as much as anything!)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •