Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Springfield, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    2,136
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Copy table from pdf (Word 97, Acrobat 5)

    Is if possible to copy a table from an Adobe Acrobat .pdf file into a Word document using version 5 of the reader? I could use Wd2K or WdXP if necessary, but this machine just has 97. TIA --Sam
    <font face="Comic Sans MS">Sam Barrett, CACI </font face=comic>
    <small>And the things that you have heard... commit these to faithful men who will be able to teach others also. 2 Timothy 2:2</small>

  2. #2
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Los Angeles, California, USA
    Posts
    289
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Copy table from pdf (Word 97, Acrobat 5)

    Using version 5 of Acrobat Reader -- no. A full version of Adobe Acrobat gives you more options... Reader is only designed to allow you to view PDF formatted files.

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: Copy table from pdf (Word 97, Acrobat 5)

    I just tried this with Acrobat 4 (the full version) and Word 2000. I only get the text, not the table layout.

    StuartR

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    3,852
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 259 Times in 239 Posts

    Re: Copy table from pdf (Word 97, Acrobat 5)

    You can get a table format out of Acrobat 4 if you use the Table Select tool rather than the Text Select tool (click and hold the Text Select button to see the options). It is unlikely to give you exactly what you want but it is a whole lot better than the Text Select.

    The other option may be the current full version of Acrobat (v5) which lets you save the file as RTF which should give you the real table. I can't test that here but the option certainly exists.

    The best option I can see with Acrobat Reader is to use the Column Select tool multiple times and re-stich the output.
    Andrew Lockton, Chrysalis Design, Melbourne Australia

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: Copy table from pdf (Word 97, Acrobat 5)

    > You can get a table format out of Acrobat 4 if you use the Table Select tool...

    I hadn't noticed this one before, but now I've tried it I'm not impressed. The attachment shows an acrobat table, followed by the same table copied and pasted into word using this method.

    StuartR
    Attached Images Attached Images
    • File Type: gif x.gif (12.1 KB, 0 views)

  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    3,852
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 259 Times in 239 Posts

    Re: Copy table from pdf (Word 97, Acrobat 5)

    I wasn't dazzled by it either but it does add a possible variant to try before you start retyping.

    I am guessing that the Table Select is sensitive to what exactly you select (including the white space). The results you displayed appear to me to show that acrobat couldn't work out not to wrap the text. Did you try this test with a few variations on the selection area - extending the area to the right beyond the text.?
    Andrew Lockton, Chrysalis Design, Melbourne Australia

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: Copy table from pdf (Word 97, Acrobat 5)

    Andrew,

    I'm impressed. You are right that extending the selection further into the white space to the right of the table improves the wrapping behaviour. It's still horrible but it's a bit better.

    StuartR

    Edited by StuartR
    I think I must have been blind when I wrote that. It is different with more white space on the right - but no better...
    Attached Images Attached Images
    • File Type: gif x.gif (2.8 KB, 0 views)

  8. #8
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,139
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Copy table from pdf (Word 97, Acrobat 5)

    Stuart,

    Looking at your screen shot, you really didn't paste a table. It pasted text aligned with <img src=/S/sick.gif border=0 alt=sick width=15 height=15> spaces.


    Sammy,

    Going from a PDF to Word is a ROYAL PITA. I had, probably about 20 documents that I had to get from PDF into an editable Word format.

    What I ended up doing was actually exporting the PDFs to HTML with CSS 1.0 and then opened the HTML files in Word.

    It worked OK, but noting stellar. Although it was FAR better than using Adobe's Export to RTF.

    To export to HTML, you will need 2 Plug-ins for Acrobat. The Make Accessible Plug-In and the Save As XML Plug-In for Windows (beta 2), both of which are available from http://www.adobe.com/support/downloads/pro...latform=Windows
    --
    Bryan Carbonnell - Toronto <img src=/S/flags/Ontario.gif border=0 alt=Ontario width=30 height=18> <img src=/S/flags/Canada.gif border=0 alt=Canada width=30 height=18>
    Unfortunately common sense isn't so common!!
    Visit my website for useful Word, Excel and Access code, templates and Add-Ins

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •