Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    London, Gtr London, England
    Posts
    496
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Sharing/Saving Files (Excel 2000)

    If Person A open spreadsheetX and then PersonB opens spreadsheetX PersonB does not get a warning saying personA has it and so you want to make a copy?, worse that that when PersonB tries to save it fails and then creates a temporary file - very alarming if the user isn't very computer literate. Very dangerous as no one knows where they are.

    We are using a network on Wondows2K servers, desktop operating system is XP with Office2K. A similar situation seems to exist with Word although here it seems the "owner" is the first to save. In all the resulting confusion it sometimes isn't clear if ANY changes have been applied.

    Anyone had similar problems?

    liz

  2. #2
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    352
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Sharing/Saving Files (Excel 2000)

    Try looking at the sharing options under Tools>Sharing for the particular workbook.
    David Grugeon
    Brisbane Australia

  3. #3
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    London, Gtr London, England
    Posts
    496
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Sharing/Saving Files (Excel 2000)

    Yes I had already done this and the file is not shared.

  4. #4
    WS Lounge VIP sdckapr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    11,225
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 342 Times in 335 Posts

    Re: Sharing/Saving Files (Excel 2000)

    Are you sure that they are opening the SAME file?
    I have seen instances where people have COPIES of a "master file" on their own computer and instead of opening the NETWORK/master copy they open and save their own PERSONAL copy. This NO error message that it is already open (this copy is NOT already opened) and the changes will be saved in THIS copy NOT the master.

    It could even be another NETWORK copy in a different folder.

    Steve

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •