Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    79
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Xp Home SP1 Install (Windows XP Home SP1)

    I have Windows XP Home and received the SP1 CD from Microsoft. The CD is titled Windows XP Professional SP1. When I try to install it, IE 6 opens and I click on the hyperlink to install SP-1.

    A dialog window opens titled Extracting Files and has the instruction within it, Verifying File XPS1. There is a progress bar and when it gets about half way, it stops the verification and another dialog box appears titled, Extraction Failed" with an instruction within the box "Incorrect Function".

    Did I order the wrong SP-1 CD

  2. #2
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Xp Home SP1 Install (Windows XP Home SP1)

    The MS site says that the SP1 CD is compatible for both XP Home & Pro. Both full downloads are identical in size and there is no mention that I could find that makes any distinction between the two. I think you are having a problem extracting the files from the CD itself (possibly a defect?) Did you close all open programs before trying the upgrade?
    I downloaded the full SP1 direct from MS and had no problems with my XP home upgrade.
    Bob
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  3. #3
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Xp Home SP1 Install (Windows XP Home SP1)

    BTW, do you also have enough free space on your HD? I forget what it said you need to extract and run the upgrade, but it seems to me it was sizeable.
    Just another thought.
    Bob
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  4. #4
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Xp Home SP1 Install (Windows XP Home SP1)

    When I've had this problem in the past, it was because of a problem with the drivers that allow ATAPI access to the CD-ROM drive or physical problems with the drive itself. What kind of a system is this - OEM, hand-rolled....AMD or Intel? Do you have problems accessing any other CDs?

    Check and see if you can find updated IDE drivers for the system from the manufacturer's website. It may also be a good idea to run a repair, or the System File Checker. And as Bob mentioned - it's quite possible that you have a defective CD, although the chances are pretty slim - eliminate possibilities first before you go to the trouble.
    -Mark

  5. #5
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    79
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Xp Home SP1 Install (Windows XP Home SP1)

    Yes I closed all open programs. In addition, I closed my antivirus and firewall program. I have gigabytes left on my hard drive.

  6. #6
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    79
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Xp Home SP1 Install (Windows XP Home SP1)

    Since I amnot at home I can only answer some of your questions.
    My PC is a OEM system that I purchased in Jan 2002, Pentium IV 1.4 GhZ, 512 MB RAM. The CD-ROM is a LG Electronics 52x. I have nevr has problems accessing CD information from this drive.

    How do you run the System file checker, is it from "RUN".

  7. #7
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Xp Home SP1 Install (Windows XP Home SP1)

    From start, run..type cmd, which will bring you to an open command box. Then type SFC, which will give you the available switches to use with system file check.
    Bob
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  8. #8
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    79
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Xp Home SP1 Install (Windows XP Home SP1)

    I ran SFC and had no errors. I inspected the SP-1 CD and saw many scratches. I also checked my CD drives, both are LG Electronics. The 52 X CD-ROM is CRD8522B abd CD-RW is CED8120B.

    I inserted the SP-1 CD in my CD-RW and it got pass the verification, extracted files and came up with the installation wizard. I stopped because I didn't want a crash due to a defective or unreadable sector on the SP-1 CD.

    Any ideas

  9. #9
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Xp Home SP1 Install (Windows XP Home SP1)

    If it looks like the CD has many scratches as you said, I think you found your own problem. Was the CD in this shape when you got it,or was it passed around to other users. It would seem unlikely that it came from MS like that, but who knows? If you did get it direct from MS, then I would contact them to get you a replacement, ASAP. As long as you can run other CD's OK on your drive, you could try to run the SP1 and see how far it gets. If it's unreadable, then it's unreadable, period.
    I have a CD cleaner/repair kit, that will take care of light scratches and marks, but not any real deep scratches. Data CD's HAVE to be treated with kid gloves and kept in the jewel case to protect them. Audio CD's can take a lot more abuse that data CD's. A friend of mine slings his CD's all over the place and then wonders why they don't work very well. I'm not saying that this is your case but it sure is not unknown.
    Try it and see what happens. Good luck,
    Bob
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  10. #10
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    79
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Xp Home SP1 Install (Windows XP Home SP1)

    Thanks for the reply. Just for information.

    I received the SP-1 CD in a carbaord shipping folder directly form Microsoft. It did not come in plastic case. I received it and put it into my 52x CDROM drive and then I got the problems with installing SP-1. It came damged from Microsoft either scratched at source or in transit to me.

  11. #11
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Xp Home SP1 Install (Windows XP Home SP1)

    Have you tried copying the contents of the CD to the hard drive and running the installation from there?
    -Mark

  12. #12
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    79
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Xp Home SP1 Install (Windows XP Home SP1)

    Thank you for all your help. I did get SP-1 to install successfully last night. I used a CD cleaner disk to clean the 52 x CDROM drive, installed the SP-1 CD and the rest is history. It looks like a successful install, although boot time seems to have increased. I can use IE 6 and Outlook Express.

    I do have one question, after installing SP-1 I got a new icon in the system tray that identified itself as "Safely Remove Hardware". Is there any way to rid myself of this icon.

  13. #13
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Xp Home SP1 Install (Windows XP Home SP1)

    I'm guessing here since I can't see the icon itself...but I would think that it's for USB devices. You may want to right-click on the icon and adjust the settings. I've never met a tray icon I couldn't kill with enough patience. <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>
    -Mark

  14. #14
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Xp Home SP1 Install (Windows XP Home SP1)

    Mark is correct, it is for a USB device. This ICON is needed for those devices that need to be disconnected SW wise before unplugging it. I know that my scanner and CD burner requires it.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  15. #15
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    79
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Xp Home SP1 Install (Windows XP Home SP1)

    Does this program run all the time if there is a USB device that need s/w shutdown before unplugging or can be activated before unplugging the device.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •