New Lounger
    Thanks

show only cars available... (Access 2000)

Hi, I am new to access. I have a problem.
    I am working on a db to keep track of vehicles hired.
    I want to show a list of only the cars that have not been booked on a certain date.

Overview:

For each new main date record I record the clients details & needs etc.
    In a subform within this main form I want to allow the user to pick the cars he wants to book. The details are kept in a table (carsbooked)
    I need to show a list of cars available only on that date so they can be recorded as being booked. I don't want to show any vehicles which are already booked for the date record in my dropdown menu for booking cars??
    The cars are kept in a seperate table called "cars". This is the list of the fleet of vehicles.

If you follow me, can anyone give me some idea as to how I could acheive this.

Plutonium Lounger
    Thanks

Re: show only cars available... (Access 2000)

What does a record in your CarsBooked table look like? I assume it contains at least something like CustomerID and VehicleID. But does it have one date field (a car is booked if there is a record for a certain date) or two (car is booked from Date1 through Date2)?

New Lounger
    Thanks

Carsbooked table as follows:

bookedref - primary
    date - date is from main form.
    carid -
    ref - individual record ref from main form

Silver Lounger
    Thanks

I'm also working on something to the same effect.
    I'm re-hashing a Bodyshop management system, one of my modules is for handling courtesy cars.
    I'ts quite complex to say the least.
    Sounds to me like you need to start looking at a query system wher the car is Active/NotActive - BookedOut/NotBookedOut.
    If your project is not too big, post it to me and I'll try to help you along with it, tips advice etc.

Regards
    Dave

Plutonium Lounger
    Thanks