Star Lounger
    Thanks

Query Question (Access XP)

I am a newbie to Access and I am trying to setup a small database to compare prices I get from 4 vendors. I have created 2 tables, one for vendor and one for parts. How can I get a query to give me the lower price for the same part?

Thanks
    RBelly

Plutonium Lounger
    Thanks

Re: Query Question (Access XP)

If you want to follow good database design, you need three tables:
    1. <LI>A parts table (PartID, Description, ...)
      <LI>A vendor table (VendorID, VendorName, ...)
      <LI>A linking table that contains VendorID, PartID and Price.
    And you need two queries: one to find the lowest price for each product, and a second one to find the vendor that has the lowest price for a given product. I have attached a zipped Access 97 database that demonstrates this. You wil have to unzip it and convert it.

Look at the three tables in design view and datasheet view, and also at the relations between them (Tools/Relations...)
    Then look at the two queries in design view and datasheet view - the second one is based on the tables and on the first query.
    Attached Files Attached Files

Star Lounger
    Thanks

Thank YOU!

Star Lounger
    Thanks

One more Quesiton. On tblPrices you have two keys but I do not know how to get both keys to appear.

Rbelly

Platinum Lounger
    Thanks

Excuse me for poking my nose in here, but where do you want both keys to appear? Are the 2 keys VendorID and PartID?
    Pat

Star Lounger
    Thanks

Yes I want PartID and Vendor ID in Hans sample he has them setup that way.
    I see it says I have to create a linked table and I am reading my Access book to see how to do that [img]/forums/images/smilies/smile.gif[/img]

Platinum Lounger
    Thanks

The following query shows the Vendor as well:

SELECT tblPrices.VendorID, qryLowPrice.PartID, qryLowPrice.LowPrice