Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Clearwater, Florida, USA
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Can't see dropdowns (6.0.26)

    On My Website, I can't get the drop-downs to work on the list across the top of the page with the >> next to them. I am on XP home w/ IE6 but I have another computer on the same network that is win98 w/IE6 and had the same problem. I also have 20 others that DONT have the problem. Any other site I go to works fine. Microsoft, Dell, and many others... No problem.... But my own? No Way. I have already lowered my security settings and made sure everything was set correctly under Internet Options. I find it hard to believe that I have the only 2 computers in the world with this problem. I you have the solution, Please let me know.
    I almost forgot, my address is www.postcardmania.com You will see the green stripe with the dropdowns across the top.

    Thanks, Christian

    Any Ideas???

  2. #2
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Northern, California, USA
    Posts
    1,886
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can't see dropdowns (6.0.26)

    You'll want to make sure that Scripting is enabled on the effected machines, it sounds like you have already done this...

    I am able to view it in all of my browsers, (I.E. 5.5SP2, Opera 6.0, and Netscape 4.77) and the menus work in all, but very poorly in Opera 6.0. This is some interesting code running behind the scenes, it doesn't seem to be the standard JavaScript... I'm no expert in page coding, (not yet anyways) but I would think that if you simplified the code behind your menus, it would run more smoothly across all versions of the browsers. Another thing to consider is that this might be a bug in the newest release of I.E., see if they've done an update to your version and install it. It may give you the results you're looking for.

    I hope this helps!
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/Kel_sig.gif>
    Moderator:<font color=448800> Pix Place, Internet Explorer</font color=448800>
    <small>www.kvisions.com

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Northern, California, USA
    Posts
    1,886
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can't see dropdowns (6.0.26)

    Our company site, here uses a server side include to pull and execute the javascript... for what that's worth. You might be able to use the same method to clean up your menus. <img src=/S/wink.gif border=0 alt=wink width=15 height=15>
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/Kel_sig.gif>
    Moderator:<font color=448800> Pix Place, Internet Explorer</font color=448800>
    <small>www.kvisions.com

  4. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Clearwater, Florida, USA
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can't see dropdowns (6.0.26)

    Thanks for your data. I have double checked everything but still no solution. I am going to try to get the scripts changed on our website, and try to talk my boss into letting me build a new one since I built a secondary site for her that she likes. I don't think our main site navigates well at all, and it isn't selling our product worth a darn. Your site however navigates very well and is very well done. I am going to send her a link so she can see how it's supposed to work.

    Thanks again,
    Christian

  5. #5
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Long Beach, California, USA
    Posts
    1,912
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can't see dropdowns (6.0.26)

    As above, it may be an IE6 issue. On my Win98-IE6 box the menus do not work.

    The menu construction seems to come from here:
    __________________________________________________ _

    (SCRIPT language=JavaScript1.2 src="coolmenus.js")
    /************************************************** *****************************
    Copyright 1999 Thomas Brattli (www.bratta.com)

    eXperience DHTML coolMenus - Get it at www.bratta.com
    Version 2.0
    This script can be used freely as long as all copyright messages are
    intact. Visit www.bratta.com/dhtml for the latest version of the script.
    __________________________________________________ _

    So... perhaps a quick visit to Thomas Brattli's site and picking up the latest version of the script is the first thing you should try. Just a thought.

    Follow-up: His site as changed. To get the latest version of "Cool Menus", you need to go here. Your site is using version 2, and he is up to version 4 now. Even though he has been working on this for years, all his versions seem to be BETA...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •