Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18

Thread: Bios flashing

  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Cornwall, England
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Bios flashing

    Can anyone please help me out with flashing the bios. I have purchased 512Mb (6X64) SDRAM and although my motherboard KT7A 1.3 says it takes up to 1.5Gb it will only work, or at least be recognised, (but no windows) if a 256 Mb stick is in aswell. On its own, it only beeps at me and no recognition or windows. I can only assume a bios upgrade would help, but I don't know how to. I have 'softmenu III' on the motherboard if that info helps someone to help me.

  2. #2
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cumberland, Maryland, USA
    Posts
    880
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Bios flashing

    PC911 has good instructions on flashing the bios: http://www.pcnineoneone.com/howto/biosflash1.html

  3. #3
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Bios flashing

    Also try Maxtor.com for bios flashing utilities. It may be only for Maxtor HD's, not sure but check their doc's to make sure.
    Bob
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  4. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Cornwall, England
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Bios flashing

    Thanks for the link, it should be easy, when I can summon up the courage to try it! [ <img src=/S/frown.gif border=0 alt=frown width=15 height=15>

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Bios flashing

    Please note that you should almost always, almost without exception, acquire BIOS flash upgrades from the supplier of the motherboard. There are some "slight" exceptions to that usually where OEMs are concerned, like Gateway or Dell or whomever. For example, even though the board may have an Award bios, you're usually safer if you get the flashing code from the board manufacturer. By the way, if you want to learn all there is to know about the "specs" of your computer, go get a FREE copy of Belarc Advisor.

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Cornwall, England
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Bios flashing

    Thanks Big Al. I'm still tooooooo chicken!!

  7. #7
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Brantford, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,391
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Bios flashing

    <hr>I'm still tooooooo chicken!! <hr>
    And if you are stating a fact here, I would suggest you personally, don't flash the BIOS. If it is required, take it to a local service shop. Once again, better to have someone else on the hook, rather than yourself <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>.
    Christopher Baldrey

  8. #8
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Newport Richey, Florida, USA
    Posts
    2,149
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Bios flashing

    If it's Dell it is pretty simple but as Chris stated it be careful. You could flash it right into another Dimension.

  9. #9
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Seattle, Washington
    Posts
    320
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Bios flashing

    very nice, cowboy...(ahem). Anyway, look for information that will tell you that the bios upgrade will actually accomplish what you want it to. Not much point in taking this leap of faith and then finding out it didn't fix the problem. If you can confirm it will help, take a deep breath and go for it! It's kinda fun, like bungee jumping!!!

    kip

  10. #10
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Newport Richey, Florida, USA
    Posts
    2,149
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Bios flashing

    Kip is correct about making sure that it will acomplish what your seeking to fix. But alot of people in this Lounge will agree with Chris Baldrey. If you have never tried it before and your not sure about it, I would not do it without some experienced help there with you. If not done correctly you could make your Motherboard Unbootable.
    <big> <font face="Script MT Bold">very nice, cowboy...(ahem)</font face=script> </big>

    I don't get it Kip.

  11. #11
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Seattle, Washington
    Posts
    320
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Bios flashing

    <hr>You could flash it right into another Dimension <hr>
    Only referring to your pun, (intended?!)

    As for the advice, if one is really unsure, then by all means get help. It's just that sometimes we let these little ######s intimidate us (computers, that is), when with some good research, a step by step approach, and some calm thinking, there's lots that we can accomplish that seemed "scary" before we tried it. I guess I'll always be the kind of guy who wants to see if I can do it myself, and I can't help but thinking that "taking it to a pro" is kind of defeatist. Of course I am a computer hobbyist, and my business (or someone else's business) doesn't depend on my ability to not screw things up, so I readily admit that there's other ways of thinking on this.

    Bottom line is that with a properly working computer, a sound, new, correct, BIOS (and I agree here, get it from the motherboard manufacturer), and a floppy disk, flashing the BIOS is not a hard thing to do, and it's useful to know how . I was a little scared, too, the first time, and I also made a conscious decision to not try to flash my Dad's Gateway, because the new BIOS didn't provide him with anything he needed. No reason to just go firing off flashes just to see if anything breaks!
    Since then, though, on my own computers I've done it a number of times, and it ain't no big thing.

    kip

  12. #12
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Bios flashing

    Not to beat this horse to death, but one thing you have to "watch" VERY carefully is that you follow the provider's instructions more carefully than careful! Sloppy reading, or skimming the instructions too quickly is risky. Many of those, er, folks speak English as a second language and sometimes the instructions are worded, shall we say, a little strangely.. I've done so many I can't even estimate the count, but I've only had one fail and it was done at the instructions of a Gateway Technician, who thought himself that the Pentium Pro mobo was bad, but wanted me to try anyway. Good luck in whatever you decide!

  13. #13
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Newport Richey, Florida, USA
    Posts
    2,149
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Bios flashing

    I'm like you Kip. I love doing these things myself and have several times. I was just concerned because he seem to be a little worried about doing the Bios Flash, and if thats the only machine he has and he makes a boo boo, well you know what I mean. Just wanted him to be careful. I build computers and I like you don't mind jumping off the bridge and hoping the bungee cord holds. <img src=/S/cheers.gif border=0 alt=cheers width=30 height=16>

  14. #14
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Stafford, Staffordshire, England
    Posts
    585
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Bios flashing

    Hi Big Al! I've recently installed a new m'board and visited the manufacturer's site to look for any bios issues. I've downloaded the latest bios and bios flashing utility. Their instructions include "install under genuine dos at the C prompt or A prompt". Since my OS is ME, there is no "genuine dos" so I'm a little lost. A little advice would be greatly appreciated.
    <font color=blue><font face="Script MT Bold"><big>Rob</big></font face=script></font color=blue>

  15. #15
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Bios flashing

    I wish I could do a Lounge search to find that link someone has posted several times - for a site that has all kinds of downloadable boot floppy disks. You might try a Google on "bootdisks" or something like that. That said, go to ME's Control Panel, Add/Remove Programs applet and there's a place to make a startup disk. Personally, I prefer my trusty ol' (customized) Win98 floppy boot disk and I keep SEVERAL copies around, like Linus and his famous blanket. The point, by the way, with the BIOS thingie is that you CANNOT be in Windows when you perform an operation like flashing the BIOS. It won't matter which kind of boot floppy you use - WinME, Win98 or whatever, just so it's DOS, not Windows GUI.

    Wait a minute. My brain just unfroze! Try one of these links:

    http://www.bootdisk.com/
    http://www.mirrors.org/archived_software/w...om/original.htm

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •