New Lounger

Best Method (Access97/SQL 2000)

Forgive me, I am new to access forms but I have a lot of SQL experience. What I am looking for is the best method to make this work. This database is built around contact with individuals and their siblings

Step 1. Pull up a person in a combo box, at the same time find the siblings names( if any )and pull them to a local access temp table. (works fine)
    Step 2. Insert the transaction information about the meeting with this person and retrieve the new record id and print.(works fine)
    Step3. For all siblings found - insert a record containing some information from the form and some information already stored in the database -- the insert fails because of some ambiguous maximum parameters error message. if I comment out one of these fields ( a comment box the is data type memo) it works.

I also need to print the new records for the sibling(s) insert. Most of this programming was already in place but they had to change to an identity column in SQL so they could begin developing the web page project. Before they were just creating new records by finding dmax and adding 1 to it which has many inherent flaws. After I suggested we change to an identity column -- these issues have arrived.

If you have any specific info -- I would appreciate it, but really I am looking for some genereal guidance to fix this problems. They do have a VBA programmer, that I believe if I get him started in the right direction -- we will get it working.

Thanks in advance

Super Moderator
    Evergreen, CO, USA

Re: Best Method (Access97/SQL 2000)