Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    51
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Dial up and LAN connection (Outlook Express 5)

    I have a laptop with OE5. It has an earthlink dialup account for when traveling and connects via lan when at the office. Is there a way to setup multiple profiles (like in outlook) so it only dials earthlink when there is no lan connection/when it needs to? I'm not that familiar with express. thank you. -scott

  2. #2
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Morden, Surrey, United Kingdom
    Posts
    1,838
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Dial up and LAN connection (Outlook Express 5)

    OE uses the IE Internet options set up, although you can set it up in OE itself if you want to. I can't remember the exact route in OE (I don't have OE here at work) but it's under Tools somewhere (options? settings?) and you have the option to set a default, then specify 'dial when a network connection is not present'. I think this does what you want.

    Maybe another lounger who does have the right software in front of them can provide the specifics - sorry I can't at the moment! <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>
    Beryl M


  3. #3
    Silver Lounger t8ntlikly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Chandler, AZ
    Posts
    2,162
    Thanks
    46
    Thanked 13 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Dial up and LAN connection (Outlook Express 5)

    I use my laptop the same way, and thats exactly what I do. Works just fine.
    Thanks John
    Teamwork is essential; it gives the enemy other people to shoot at. (Murphy's War Laws #39)

  4. #4
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Morden, Surrey, United Kingdom
    Posts
    1,838
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Dial up and LAN connection (Outlook Express 5)

    Thanks for the corroboration, John - I wonder whether it worked for 'scottburke'? He never came back to say!
    Beryl M


  5. #5
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    51
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Dial up and LAN connection (Outlook Express 5)

    Sorry for the delay in responding. Thank you all for the help. I've been out of the office and away from this OE problem. It is still unresolved. I have the connection properties set for the earthlink account to "always use this account" and the other mail account to alway use LAN settings. Earthlink dials/errors everytime, even when connected via lan. Basically, am shooting for having the appropriate account work depending upon the connectivity method without the other generating errors. I've seen this done, not sure what I've set wrong. thanks again for any assistance. -scott

  6. #6
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Morden, Surrey, United Kingdom
    Posts
    1,838
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Dial up and LAN connection (Outlook Express 5)

    No probs. I have to say I can't think of anything else to suggest, though! Keep your fingers crossed someone else will think of something.

    <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>
    Beryl M


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •