Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: VBE Windows

  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    245
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    VBE Windows

    I have a problem with the individual windows in my VBE. They have become 'undocked' and now I cannot get the Project Explorer and the Properties windows to sit in their 'normal' positions.

    It happened before and I found a solution (forgotten where) and now I can't get them back again (or find the solutions in the usual places).

    All suggestions will be gratefully received and you will possibly help me from tearing any more hair out.

    Thanks in advance, Leigh

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: VBE Windows

    In the VBE, Tools-->Options-->Docking. Check the selections you want docked.
    Charlotte

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    245
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: VBE Windows

    Thanks for your response Charlotte, but I had tried that. My problem is that the Project Explorer window becomes docked at the top of the available space (below the toolbars) and no settings changes seem to fix it.

    It happened before and I seem to think that you responded last time (thanks once more) but that was on the old Lounge and I can't find any reference to it that I saved here.

    I just want the windows for Project Explorer and Properties to dock on the left hand side as per the standard layout.

    I can post a screen capture if it would help.

    Any further suggestions?

  4. #4
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: VBE Windows

    I made the mistake of re-creating your problem and I, too, cannot get the Project Explorer and Properties pane to share a column. I can drag them to the left of the window and get two columns, but not the original stacked design. Rats.

  5. #5
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    2,970
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 29 Times in 27 Posts

    Re: VBE Windows

    Leigh,

    I don't know if this is a solution to your (and now Jeff's) problem, but I recall a thread on the old Lounge regarding a misbehaving VBE, where the solution was to delete registry key(s) relating to the VBE.

    Can't offer more details than this hazy recollection, maybe someone else out there can add more?

    Gary

  6. #6
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Yilgarn region of Toronto, Ontario
    Posts
    5,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: VBE Windows

    Bingo! Thanks!!

    I've often had this docking problem. It's what drove me crazy (I didn't used to be like this). Yours is the best solution I've found. In the past I've spent around a minute awkwardly dragging windows and then having them plop! back into a nasty hole where I didn't want them.

    I thought I was the only one who had this problem. Now i know I'm in a large group of people who have the solution. Ahhhh!

  7. #7
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    South Carolina, USA
    Posts
    7,295
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Docking Floating Windows in VBE Editor

    I just undocked my Project Explorer and Properties windows, and I had the same problem. However, I was finally able to get them redocked where they are supposed to be. I did it by right clicking on the window and then clicking on the Dockable command on the pop up menu. This caused the window to dock to the top of the VBE window, across the complete width of the window. I then grabbed the top right of the title bar, just to the left of the close window X and dragged to to lower left of the VBE window until the drab box changed to a smaller box and released. The window then docked on the left side where I wanted it. I did the same thing with both windows and got them back where they belong.
    Legare Coleman

  8. #8
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Horsham, Sussex, England
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Docking Floating Windows in VBE Editor

    That's the solution! Why doesn't VBA Help give a word or two on the subject? I thought I was the only one and going daft. Thanks a million.

    David Stevenson

  9. #9
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    3,386
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: VBE Windows

    Ayup, I ran into that problem back in Office 97.'
    The fix was to delete, asI recall, the Data key in the Registry for the VBE.

    Anybody courageous enough to try this now?

    The problem I was having was mainly with the code module windows,

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •