Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Blacktown, Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
    Posts
    175
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Horiz lines on a Report (AC2K)

    I have a report which lists Fees collected for classes I conduct at a local hall. I wish to print the report, and then print horizontal lines from the end of the data to the bottom of the page (suitably spaced), so I can hand record additional fees collected under the printed data, and use the report as an input document when I get home. I can produce the report no problems, but have been scratching my head on how to print horizontal lines to the end of the page.
    I just know there has to be a way.

    TIA

  2. #2
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    24
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Horiz lines on a Report (AC2K)

    On your tools toolbar there is abutton for drawing lines, just like on the draw toolbar in Word.

    Click on.

    Place cursor, drag out length of line in report design view.

  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Blacktown, Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
    Posts
    175
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Horiz lines on a Report (AC2K)

    I know how to draw lines, but how do I fill to the end of the report with a NUMBER of lines

  4. #4
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    4,594
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

    Re: Horiz lines on a Report (AC2K)

    If you know how many lines are printed per page, you could:

    1. set up a table with a number of records (blank) that would complete the report.
    2. You would use a Union query to select the data for the report, sorting the extra records so they appear last in the report.
    3. You would have to add some code to the Detail section checking when a blank record is ready to be printed and set all the fields bar the underline to invisible and the line to visible (and vice versa for the normal line).

    I realise this is a complex solution, but I cannot think of an easier way at this time, maybe someone else will (I will stay tuned with interest).

    HTH
    Pat <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>

  5. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Blacktown, Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
    Posts
    175
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Horiz lines on a Report (AC2K)

    Thanks Pat. I guess an easier solution is a Pencil and Ruler.

    As the number of lines will vary, depending on the number of records, I thought there may be a (number_of_lines_used) property and an (end of data) event or something, that I may be able to use.

    Oh well, as I am the only user............. Tough!

  6. #6
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Blacktown, Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
    Posts
    175
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Horiz lines on a Report (AC2K)

    Pat,

    Just had divine inspiration.

    What if I create a number (say about 10) horizontal lines (complete with labels for headings), in the REPORT FOOTER. This would add to the bottom of the report. If it goes over to a new page, so what! I would then always have about 10 lines to record new receipts, every time I reprinted the report.

    Hmmmm maybe simple solutiions in the long run are best!

  7. #7
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    4,594
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

    Re: Horiz lines on a Report (AC2K)

    Why not, it sounds so much simpler !!
    Not elegant but simpler, your idea will probably take about 100th of the time to implement.

    Pat <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Horiz lines on a Report (AC2K)

    Access reports have a Line method that you can use to draw lines on the report as well. So at the end of the report, you could automatically draw enough lines to fill the rest of the page.
    Charlotte

  9. #9
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    38
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Horiz lines on a Report (AC2K)

    Download the RptSmp97 from MS, look up how to print a constant number of lines
    <font color=blue>Edited by WendellB to activate link 15-Oct--02 06:14 MDT (UTC-7)
    Also see the specific article here
    </font color=blue>

  10. #10
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    4,594
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

    Re: Horiz lines on a Report (AC2K)

    The things you learn, well I'll be.
    Thanks you guys, Charlotte and RichUK.
    Pat

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •