Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Bristol, Bristol, United Kingdom
    Posts
    48
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Is anyone there? (Access 2000)

    There is one field, in one record in my database that reads "#Error" and when i simply place the mouse over it (in either the table or the form) i get the message "The Microsoft Jet database engine stopped the process because you and another user are attempting to change the same data at the same time." I am the only person logged onto the database (only 3 of us use it!!) and have not had this problem on any occasion when more than one person has been using it.
    How do i overcome this and see the original data???

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Is anyone there? (Access 2000)

    I hate to be the bearer of bad news, but this probably means that the record has become corrupted. The record is probably lost.

    Try this on a copy of the database:
    (1) Tools/Database Utilities/Compact and Repair. If there are corrupt records, Access will create a CompactErrors table.
    If that doesn't work:
    (2) Use the JetCompact utility from Microsoft; you can download it from ACC2000: Jet Compact Utility Available in Download Center. Sometimes, this utility is able to correct problems that the internal command can't handle.
    If that doesn't work either
    (3) Try to delete the record. You will have to re-create it.

  3. #3
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Bristol, Bristol, United Kingdom
    Posts
    48
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Is anyone there? (Access 2000)

    Thank HansV!!! So simple really! I did the Compact and repair database and a CompactErrors table was created (with the error code "-1611"...whatever that means!), but I can now go into the record and the field so can update to it's original state. How did this happen though and can I avoid it in future? I don't want loose more information!!

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Is anyone there? (Access 2000)

    I don't know if the corrupted field was a Memo field. Memo fields are prone to corruption, because the contents are stored in another part of the database than the record itself; the connection can get lost. Network errors can also lead to corruption.

    Have a look at HOW TO: Keep a Jet 4.0 Database in Top Working Condition for tips from Microsoft.

  5. #5
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Bristol, Bristol, United Kingdom
    Posts
    48
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Is anyone there? (Access 2000)

    It is a memo field. It's the first time it's happened in 500 odd records over a year of use, so it isn't that big a problem for me. I had a look on the site you suggested, but i think it's a bit beyond my basic (no pun intended) skills!!
    Thanks for your help,
    Al.

  6. #6
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Niagara Falls, New York, USA
    Posts
    1,878
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Is anyone there? (Access 2000)

    Hi Hans

    Questions on Microsoft Jet 4.0?
    A2k (9.0.3821) SR-1

    I installed A2k (9.0.3821) SR-1 on two Windows 98 and Windows 2000 computers with same install CD

    After installation I checked msjet40.dll as suggested:

    1 Windows 98 development computer had msjet40.dll version 4.00.4431.1 Jet 4.0 SP5

    1 Windows 98 user computer had msjet40.dll version 4.00.2521.8 Prior Jet 4.0 SP3

    Windows 2k user computer had msjet40.dll version 4.00.6218.0 Jet 4.0 SP6

    According to Q239114 I can run JET40SP6_9xNT.exe to update Windows 98 SP5 to SP6

    How do I update Windows 98 Prior Jet 4.0 SP3 to SP6?

    Thanks, John

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Is anyone there? (Access 2000)

    Hello John,

    The MSKB articles seem to be contradicting each other: one states
    <hr>Before you install this update (SP6 - HansV) on a computer that is running Windows 95, Windows 98, or Windows NT 4.0, you must already have Jet 4.0 Service Pack 3 (SP3) or later installed. You have at least Jet 4.0 (SP3) if the file msjet40.dll is version 4.00.2927.4 or later.<hr>
    but another states
    <hr>You should only install Jet40SP3_Comp.exe when Jet 4.0 is not already installed by your operating system, an application, or Microsoft Access Data Components (MDAC) 2.5 Service Pack 1 (SP1) or earlier.<hr>
    I would try to apply the SP6 update immediately, without installing intermediate updates. If I'm wrong, you'll get an error message. I that case, you can always download and install SP3; there is a link in the web page I referred to in my previous reply in this thread. Install SP6 after that.

  8. #8
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Niagara Falls, New York, USA
    Posts
    1,878
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Is anyone there? (Access 2000)

    Hi Hans

    Still confused when Jet gets initially installed on a Windows computer.

    Does jet get installed when windows is initially installed?

    Does jet get installed/updated when Access is installed?

    When I run JET40SP6_9xNT.exe does it just copy files to where they belong or do they get registered in the Registry?

    If I install Jet 4.0 Service Pack 6 is there a way to get back to Jet 4.0 Service Pack 5 if I need to?

    In my previous post I ended up with 3 versions of jet after same A2k (9.0.3821) SR-1 Access CD was installed on all 3 cpmputers.

    Thank, John

  9. #9
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Is anyone there? (Access 2000)

    Access isn't the only application that uses the Jet engine and an earlier version of Jet should not install over a later version. Why on earth would you need to revert to an earlier Jet service pack? The idea is to make sure all machines have the latest SP.
    Charlotte

  10. #10
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Is anyone there? (Access 2000)

    John,

    As far as I know, some version of the Jet 4 Engine is installed by:
    - MS Office 2000/XP Professional and MS Office 2000/XP Developer Edition
    - Visual Studio 6 products (Visual Basic 6 etc.)
    - Windows 2000

    and there might be more.

    Again, AFAIK there is no reason why you should want to downgrade from SP6 to SP5.

    But I'm not an expert in this. I hope someone else will have more/better info.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •