Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    New Disk upgrade on XP Pro (XP Pro)

    I would like to convert an older drive with XP pro to a newer drive. I have added a newer faster hard driveto my system. I can configure the drive and everything works. I now want to clone the drive and make that my new O/S drive. I use Norton Ghost and follow the directions on the web site. After completing the tasks I disconnect the old drive and make the new drive my master. I can boot and receive a sign on. After a while I receive the Microsoft error of software needs to be activated and it returns me to the sign on. An endless loop. I called Norton and spent $30 for a service call. They told me the directions were incorrect and try another way. Same results. I called Norton back and they told me it is a Microsoft problem. Their Ghost product is certified to be XP compatible. I called Microsoft and they tell me "I explained that we don't support Norton Ghost in any way, shape or form."if you are going to upgrade the hard drive then you must add the new drive and re-install the O/S. I asked about SP and other software and the statement was all software must be re-installed. I can copy my documents from the old to the new after I get everything working. I am looking for an easy way to upgrade a hard drive. Any suggestions? Microsoft refers you to KB Q314070 How to Move a Windows XP Installation to Different Hardware.

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: New Disk upgrade on XP Pro (XP Pro)

    First of all, I don't use Ghost but Drive Image instead, so I can't comment on whether Ghost is your problem or not. But it DOES seem to me you need to have another conversation with Microsoft and coerce them into activating you for a second time. Your situation is no different than someone having a hard drive crash and restoring to a new hard drive from BACKUP. From what you describe, there's nothing wrong with your clone - Windows XP DOES boot and get you past the logon, so that tells me the installation seems "clean." I don't know that it's any of Microsoft's business what software you use for backing up and restoring, as long as it WORKS. And it seems that it did so.

    I'd have to go back and read the EULA again, or whatever, but I also thought that it took "several major" changes of hardware before re-activation kicks in. Be that as it may, it still looks like you've got a valid complaint to Microsoft.

  3. #3
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: New Disk upgrade on XP Pro (XP Pro)

    Did you try to reactivate and the process refused to accept you activation or did you call MS Support?
    I think you will find that the hard drive is part of the hardware configuration that determines the activation code.

    So all you need to do is run the activate process. If the automatic process does not work, call the number that is displayed on your screen, and follow the instructions. I had to do this one time and you will be required to punch in the 50 numbers by using the phone keypad and then you will be given a another 50 numbers to enter into your computer. It will take about 3 minutes of your time.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  4. #4
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: New Disk upgrade on XP Pro (XP Pro)

    Dave has asked he right question. Did you try to reactivate and did it accept it OK or not? I had to reactivate when I upgraded a good chunk of my hardware and it went fine without a hitch. The change in HD is probably why it wants to reactivate XP. Do you have any other problems after reactivating?
    Bob
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  5. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Porthcawl, Mid Glamorgan, Wales
    Posts
    107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: New Disk upgrade on XP Pro (XP Pro)

    I don't know that there is too much about the disc that the activation checking cares about. I built 2 complete systems by first building one, then ghosting the hard disk (same size and make) and putting the drive in the second system. No requests to reactivate were made for a system with a different processor, motherboard and hard disc!!!! And by the way, GHOST worked fine.

  6. #6
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: New Disk upgrade on XP Pro (XP Pro)

    Using the same product key...? Just keep in mind that Windows Update and XP Service Pack 1 will be checking your product key. Windows Update will (and has been for months) recording the product keys used when users access the site for updates. Were it me, I'd make sure I had a valid license for the second copy that was installed, and that the product key on that second system corresponded with it.
    -Mark

  7. #7
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Porthcawl, Mid Glamorgan, Wales
    Posts
    107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: New Disk upgrade on XP Pro (XP Pro)

    Yes, I have an MSDN licence that allows several computers to have the software loaded. I gave the example to illustrate how little information must be used by the activation software before it decides a re-activation is needed.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •