Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
    Posts
    63
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Laptop modem hangs

    I'm having a problem getting laptop computers to connect here at work. Folks were able to connect to the outside until very recently. These 2 guys have fairly new laptops with 56K v.90 modems; I don't know what the folks used in the past. They're going through our phone system and dialing out correctly. Both PCs go through the dialling and the boing boing thing but never really attach. One guy is on a new IBM laptop and has not successfully connected anywhere; for him I suspect a bad modem and I'm dealing with IBM on it. The other guy, though, uses his laptop elsewhere and connects just fine. The phone line they are using is a good one and I've even had them try different phones lines.

    Does anyone have any ideas what could be amiss? Are newer modems incompatible with older phone systems? <img src=/S/igiveup.gif border=0 alt=igiveup width=31 height=23> <img src=/S/hairout.gif border=0 alt=hairout width=31 height=23>

  2. #2
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Northern, California, USA
    Posts
    1,886
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Laptop modem hangs

    I recall one environment I worked at in the past, where the switchboard for the building itself ran a digital circuit, meaning all 'voice' phones in the building would not work for any type of modem. We encountered this primarily in Laptops, while we were testing configurations to ensure that a connection could be made. As I recall, the laptop modem would go through all the paces, but when it came time to swap data, it couldn't do it.

    To resolve this, we contacted our Telco, and requested an Analog line be installed in the Lab. This line resided outside of the switchboard, and thus bypassed the digital confusion the switchboard created.

    I hope this helps! When in doubt, try connecting from a line outside of building. In most cases, your home phone line will run analog, allowing you to troubleshoot your connection problems much more effectively.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/Kel_sig.gif>
    Moderator:<font color=448800> Pix Place, Internet Explorer</font color=448800>
    <small>www.kvisions.com

  3. #3
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
    Posts
    63
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Laptop modem hangs

    We have both analog and digital phone lines. The phone lines in question are analog lines. I'm positive of that since I'm the phone administrator, too.

    Anyone have any other ideas? One modem won't work on any phone line and the other one works on the one in the guy's hotel but not here. Could it be an incompatiblity with a "fast" modem on an old phone system?

  4. #4
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Northern, California, USA
    Posts
    1,886
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Laptop modem hangs

    A quick search on Google returned a few resources:

    http://www.computersettings.com/cs_i...ems_issues.htm
    http://support.mia.net/modemhelp.html

    The consensus seems to be that any noise in the line will cause intermittent problems, if it allows a connection at all.

    HTH
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/Kel_sig.gif>
    Moderator:<font color=448800> Pix Place, Internet Explorer</font color=448800>
    <small>www.kvisions.com

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Nixa, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    314
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Laptop modem hangs

    The answer to the "older" phone systems is No it will not cause the issue you are describing. I am dealing with wiring put in in 1969 for both digital and analog phones. As to why it works outside the office and not in the office I would triple check that the phone company did not switch some wiring and the analog line you are using is really digital. The easy way to tell is to plug an analog phone in and see if it works in the jack you are trying to use. It has happened to me recently.
    I took get to be the Network, Desktop, Phone, Paging system, if it is electronic and does or doesn't work, fix it responsible kind of guy.

  6. #6
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
    Posts
    63
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Laptop modem hangs

    I set up the phones here and the lines we have been trying to use are truly analog lines. There are analog phones plugged into those lines right now and the phones work as they should.

    Any other ideas? I'm at a loss for words on this! <img src=/S/brickwall.gif border=0 alt=brickwall width=25 height=15> <img src=/S/crazy.gif border=0 alt=crazy width=15 height=15> <img src=/S/hairout.gif border=0 alt=hairout width=31 height=23>

    By the way, we need a New Mexico flag! That's where I am!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •