Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Wales, UK
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Using Frontpage on a network (2002)

    Is it possible to share Frontpage 2002 on a network. I have it installed on one machine & would find it useful if I could access it from my other pc. Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Using Frontpage on a network (2002)

    I think you will find the EUA - not to mention the activation - limits your use of any Office XP/2002 poduct to one pc and one laptop.

  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    141
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Using Frontpage on a network (2002)

    <img src=/S/hello.gif border=0 alt=hello width=25 height=29>

    <img src=/S/ranton.gif border=0 alt=ranton width=66 height=37>
    Those EULAs stink. The license should be treated like a book. If it's not in use on one PC, then the other PC should be able to use it. Of course, then you wouldn't have to buy two copies making M$ less $$$.
    <img src=/S/rantoff.gif border=0 alt=rantoff width=66 height=37>

    <img src=/S/2cents.gif border=0 alt=2cents width=15 height=15>

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Using Frontpage on a network (2002)

    Well, I think that's the theory spot on.
    But from their point of view, if one could install it on two PC's, why not twenty? Or two hundred?

    (I'm not saying YOU would, just that it could be done but for the activation thingummy.)

  5. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    141
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Using Frontpage on a network (2002)

    "But from their point of view, if one could install it on two PC's, why not twenty? Or two hundred?"

    There are ways of constructing software to detect if the software is in use and refuse to run if it is in use. Game developers are already doing this making sure the the same CD key isn't in use. There are lots of options.

    <img src=/S/shrug.gif border=0 alt=shrug width=39 height=15>

  6. #6
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Using Frontpage on a network (2002)

    I don't think that will work. Too many critical details are in the Registry, and that goes for all Microsoft software. I'm not even sure it would work to share the My Webs folder...but that at least would be reasonably possible to try.

    But... wait... you could use VNC or some other desktop control software to remotely control PC #1 from PC #2. I've never done this myself, but I have seen it done.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •