Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Wetherby, Yorkshire, England
    Posts
    283
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    W2K Toolbar Menu - 'Edit'

    Sorry I put this in General Office by mistake

    Does anyone know why my Edit menu button in W Explorer on my PC causes a program error and seems to unlog me from windows whenever I try to use it? I think it could be one of the little programs you add like Tweakui or something but I don't know which and I could be on forever removing and reinstalling. And of course that may not be the answer any way. My laptop works fine.
    Peter

  2. #2
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    New York, New York, USA
    Posts
    2,328
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: W2K Toolbar Menu - 'Edit'

    It can indicate serious problem in your Windows installation. Windows Explorer is integrated part of Windows (historically, Windows itself was developed as extended File Manager - now called Windows Explorer). Most likely you must repair or reinstall Windows (procedure is different depending which version of Windows do you use).
    Is hitting Alt-E in Windows Explorer causes the same error?

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Wetherby, Yorkshire, England
    Posts
    283
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: W2K Toolbar Menu - 'Edit'

    Thanks for your tip but in the meantime I've been doing the elimination I said I didn't want to do and guess what the culprit was.....
    It was the WOPR PlaceBar!!!!
    I've removed it and all is now well. Any thoughts on that one from anyone would be interesting.
    Peter

  4. #4
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Wetherby, Yorkshire, England
    Posts
    283
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: W2K Toolbar Menu - 'Edit'

    A big apology yo Woody. The Edit button has gone again so it was obviously just coincidence that it worked for a short while aftr I removed PlaceBar.
    So I'm still stumped.
    Peter

  5. #5
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,573
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: W2K Toolbar Menu - 'Edit'

    Peter, Seems like Windows Explorer has been corrupted. Have you recently installed new hardware or software? Was service pack level are you running? If you are not running service pack3 you could try to install that before any other measures. Otherwise as kaplink said above, it it probably time to try a system repair.

    Joe
    Joe

  6. #6
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Wetherby, Yorkshire, England
    Posts
    283
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: W2K Toolbar Menu - 'Edit'

    For those of you who were interested. I thought I'd let you know the solution to the problem and this time I've tested it a lot.
    I had a little programme caled rjhExtensions which adds a few really useful extras to the context menu but it seemed to affect the edit menu of explorer.
    Everything seems Ok now. It's apity 'cos I liked it.
    Peter

  7. #7
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Long Beach, California, USA
    Posts
    1,912
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: W2K Toolbar Menu - 'Edit'

    We can probably create all (or most) of the rjhExtensions program manually. Which functions do you want the most??

  8. #8
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Wetherby, Yorkshire, England
    Posts
    283
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: W2K Toolbar Menu - 'Edit'

    I like them all but I particularly like 'Full path to Clipboard' and 'File Shredder'
    Thanks.
    Peter

  9. #9
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Long Beach, California, USA
    Posts
    1,912
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: W2K Toolbar Menu - 'Edit'

    Those are touger ones! But, nothing is impossible.

    I looks like the "Path to Clipboard" requires a .DLL to run. I've have found a couple options, but one you should be aware of is the SendToX "PowerToy" from Microsoft. This has a "Sent To... ClipBoard as Name" choice which works very well.

    At least two 'code gurus' have created DLL's that do this very nicely as well. I choose the one from Nick Caruthers, but the one from Glenn Carr looks nice too.

    I have to assume the File Shredder was a complete file deleting function??
    Attached Images Attached Images

  10. #10
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Wetherby, Yorkshire, England
    Posts
    283
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: W2K Toolbar Menu - 'Edit'

    R2
    Thanks for that. I'd forgotten about Powertoys.
    The Send to X does what I want and the rest I can live without.
    Peter

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •